We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent

Staff were so helpful, friendly and so lovely. They gave assistance to my grandmother helping her... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
354kerrye
Honeymoon October 2021

Brilliant afternoon tea and going first class made it all the more special on the last day of our... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Russell T
,
Birkenshaw, United Kingdom
Read all 1 392 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Aviemore
from US$112,34
More Info
from US$84,25
More Info
from US$710,32
More Info
from US$790,59
More Info
Reviews (1 392)
Filter reviews
1 392 results
Traveller rating
820
354
119
51
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
820
354
119
51
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea steam engine santa express first class sandwiches light lunch step back in time aviemore station lovely trip lovely scenery take photos carriage garten boat railway volunteers platform
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 392 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2021

We booked first class as didn't want to sit on the train in masks due to Covid restrictions. Glad we spent the extra money for the privilege of a carriage to ourselves. Staff were polite and were on hand whenever you needed them. Its a train so toilets were what you'd expect. Food was average but we ate it all. Scones were a bit hard and sandwiches and cakes were small portions. That didn't meet our expectations but we weren't there for the food it was the train carriage experience we wanted and it was great fun.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank FSCOLLAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely woman in the booking office I spoke to I think her name was Caroline she passed my information on to some other woman to phone me regarding booking what an edge she had needs to remember it's people keeping her in a job hence I didn't book

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank DanielleLucyEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

What a lovely experience. The steam train element is charming and the train was well presented and clean, we did book a first class compartment but were seated in a first class carriage, a minor matter really. The train chuffed along and stopped at some picturesque stations including Glenbogle (Monarch of the Glen’s station) which is Broomhill really! You can get off and take pics.
Staff were delightful and allowed the children to have soft drinks due to not wanting tea or coffee. We chose sandwiches (good for me being fussy) and the scone and little cakes/sponges were delicious. They catered for my friend’s nut allergy too. We had a refill of tea and coffee and very happy to leave a tip to the chirpy youngster who waited on us.
Would recommend for a tour of the scenery (everyone waves) and a delicious tea (with Prosecco).
Great fun!

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank victoriacox_wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Brilliant experience. Really got the atmosphere of travel from the days of steam. Helpful and knowledgeable staff, especially Laura who was so helpful. Will happily revisit. Got some great photos whilst there.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank T2483IBiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

We had a fantastic family day out with on one of the top attractions in Aviemore. A must visit when in the area. Perfect day from the moment waked onto the platform. Amazing service from all concerned, professional, efficient & helpful. Highly recommended.
We had the lunch in first class & did not disappoint. Nothing quite like it rolling through the breath taking Cairngorm scenery.
Would recommend booking in advance, very popular & nothing but smiling faces from all travelling!
Thank you all for a fab day which will never be forgotten.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews