We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steaming through the Scottish Highlands ”
Review of Strathspey Railway

Strathspey Railway
Ranked #11 of 47 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Steam through the stunning Scottish Highlands in style.Our steam engines take you on a very special trip through the Cairngorms National Park as you travel between Aviemore, Boat of Garten and Broomhill.Why not make your trip extra special with one of our dining on board options: Light Lunch offers soup, sandwiches, tea and coffee; Afternoon Tea has some sandwiches, scones with jam and cream followed by some delicious cakes; or enjoy a full three course Sunday Lunch or Dinner. Why not upgrade to First Class to enjoy a meal in one of our compartments, finely decorated in it's own tartan, with vintage British Rail mirrors and luggage racks inside. Split your trip up with a visit to Boat of Garten to explore some fantastic walk trails or bring your bike on board to explore the great cycle routes in the area. See if you can beat the train back from Broomhill on your bike!We are also taking part in the Great Railway Treasure Hunt 2013, so there's plenty for the kids to do on the trip!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can’t think of a better way to travel back in time than a trip through the beautiful Scottish Highlands on an old steam train.

We ordered the Salmon with cream cheese sandwiches, Macaroons and scones for lunch and it was all really delicious. The chef was generous with the Salmon portions :).

Thank you for a great trip.

1  Thank Devinzivkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
717Vanessa53, Catering Manager at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your trip on the railway, the scenery is stunning in all the seasons. Regarding cakes and the Salmon Sandwiches I will let the chef know your comments. :),

Kind Regards
Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 113 reviews
"santa express"
in 85 reviews
"steam engine"
in 83 reviews
"first class"
in 116 reviews
"mince pies"
in 48 reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 40 reviews
"broomhill station"
in 20 reviews
"buffet car"
in 19 reviews
"light lunch"
in 36 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 18 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 17 reviews
"return journey"
in 38 reviews
"step back in time"
in 16 reviews
"tv series"
in 13 reviews
"waiting room"
in 13 reviews
"dining car"
in 13 reviews
"steam train journey"
in 14 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 1 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely time on the steam train today. It stopped at Broomhill and we were able to get out for 15 minutes for fresh air. The train was very warm in the warm weather. Staff very friendly. Afternoon tea was lovely but could have had more variety of sandwiches.

1  Thank Siōbhán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Administrator & Waitress at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad to hear you had a lovely time on the trip and found our staff friendly. We will pass on these positive comments and let the catering team know of your wish for more variety of sandwiches.

We hope to welcome you on board again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took my mother-in-law, aged 97, for a trip on the Speyside steam train on Sunday for afternoon tea. She had a wonderful time, the staff/volunteers were great and treated her to many cups of tea and made her feel quite special. Stunning scenery on a beautiful day just added to the trip. The other 6 of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves too.

Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Administrator & Waitress at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We are glad to hear you had a great trip and that your mother in law felt very special, we will pass on your lovely comments to our staff/volunteers.

We hope to welcome you on board again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a delicious afternoon tea on the Strathspey steam train, taking us through the Cairngorms National Park. Itwe where celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, and it brought back lots of childhood memories although back then there was too many of us to get into a first class carriage. The first class carriage seats six, with only the 2 of us it was nice to have the space to chill out. The train journey lasts for aroun an hour and a half and you can't fault the scenery if your not passing the mountains your going through the forest walks and the farming communities. It was a most enjoyable and memorable trip

Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Administrator & Waitress at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are really glad that we could provide you with a delicious afternoon tea and an enjoyable nostalgic trip.

We hope we can welcome you on board again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve have a wonderful day trip on the Strathspey Railway in Aviemore, the train manager Maureen Cuthbertson ** couldn’t do enough for us.
All staff were so polite and most helpful, the food was delicious !!
Well worth a visit. X

Thank laloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Administrator & Waitress at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful day visiting our heritage railway and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strathspey Railway also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Strathspey Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing