We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh na Lochan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Room
Dining Room leading to patio and garden
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
En-suite
Double Bedroom
Complimentary Highland Aromatics toiletries.
Kitchen
Loch Morlich
Tigh na Lochan in winter
Cairngorms
Ruthven Barracks
Woodland walk around Loch an Eilean
Loch an Eilean
Schoolhouse at the Highland Folk Museum, Kingussie
Loch an Eilean
Rothiemurchus at sunset
Loch Morlich
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
claire c
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We - my husband and two children (12 and 8) - spent a week here, as we have done on a number of occasions over the years, in July 2015. The only addition we had this time was our well behaved lab! Location of this property is spot on, just enough out of Aviemore centre to be very peaceful but easily walkable to get back into at night, or whenever you want to go back into town for shopping and so on. Part of a large development with safe roads, a couple of little playparks too. Older kids will be able to cycle around on their own, family feeling to the development.
Inside, as always, the house was very clean, presentable and homely.
There are three bedrooms, a master double with an extremely comfortable sleigh bed, another double and a room with bunk beds and a single. The children's room has lots of toys and kids' books and is always a great delight to our youngest. Such a novelty to play with someone else's toys and lots of books for bedtime reading. Storage is great in this house. Also very clear that the owners 'get' family holidays. For younger kids than ours, there's a high chair, plastic cutlery and plastic dishes/cups but what we also found great this year was all of the Tupperware style boxes for picnics. The living room is always great to come home to at night, cosy, easy to work fire, lovely luxurious thick curtains, sofa etc.. to create a homely feel. Great shed outside, washing line, lovely wooden garden furniture. There really is nothing lacking which is why we will be back in October!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel to the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KittyRamp...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Perfect Home”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Upon arriving at "Tigh na Lochan", the house was very clean, tidy and well prepared with towels on the beds for each guest. The house is well maintained and although, feels cramped in some rooms with 7 people, is remarkable spacious when spread out. With comfortable beds and plenty games and DVD's we were never stuck on what to do at night.

The beds are very comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped, although lacking a wooden spoon. It is in a quiet location on the north of Aviemore, and is an excellent "Hub" for doing various activities in the area. The house has washing facilities which include a washing machine, clothes horse and ironing board and iron. Ideal for those who are tight on space.

The owner, Fraser was a joy to deal with and efficiently dealt with any issues we had. I would happily recommend this property to anyone looking to Holiday in the Area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well maintained house, with "Home from home" feeling.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you for the great review, we're glad you enjoyed your time at Tigh na Lochan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvs101
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great stay at Tigh na Lochan.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have recently returned from our second stay at Tigh na Lochan. We had a lovely week there and highly recommend it.

It's in a quiet spot on the edge of Aviemore, is very well furnished and equipped, beautifully clean, roomy and very comfortable. There's a good selection of books and DVDs, an excellent broadband connection, an enclosed garden, plenty to keep children occupied and a storage shed for bikes. We also found it very good value if you are able to go just outside of high season.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Aviemore and at Tigh na Lochan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dundee
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$667
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing