We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned away half an hour before closing”
Review of The Druie

The Druie
Ranked #13 of 65 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Druie takes its name from the burn(river) that rushes behind the restaurant and always seems in a hurry to carry clear, sparkling mountain water from the Cairngorms to the River Spey. We are open daily 9.30am - 5.00pm for locally roasted coffee, locally sourced tasty lunches,leaf teas and delicious homemade cakes, with a focus on dishes prepared from lovingly home produced beef from our pedigree herd of Highland cattle,our velvety venison from the ancient forest of Rothiemurchus and seasonal produce from specialist producers, served in a relaxed, friendly environment. Whilst enjoying your coffee or lunch at the Druie, you can enjoy the exhibition of local artwork which changes each month, especially selected by Ellie, who manages the Gallery at Loch an Eilein and is also a member of Creative Cairngorms.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in just before 4.30 for a cup of tea but was stopped at the door by a young girl who said they were closed. The opening times are until 5 and there was a lady at the counter being served. I would love to give zero

1  Thank tabitha351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I agree this is totally unacceptable, if we are advertised as open until 5pm then as a customer I too would expect to get served and would be as angry as you were. We are very sorry you had this really bad experience - many thanks for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that we closed earlier than our advertised times on the day you visited. Occasionally, we have closed half an hour early when we have been finding that the Druie has no new customers after 3.30pm. We should have told you that we had a choice of takeaway tea’s and coffee available from the Farm Shop next door and that, as the Druie had closed, you would have been welcome to use the outside seating area, the team are sorry this did not happen. We have now changed our advertised times (Trip Adviser, Google etc.) to close at 4.30pm to cover this occasional situation, although we will normally stay open until 5pm as before. This means that when it is so hot and therefore quiet, we can keep a control on our costs. Our business is founded on listening to our customers and those would like to be customers; we have Freepost feedback forms in a dedicated display in the Front Entrance Hall and read and circulate every comment. Our apologies and please try us again if you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nice place to drop in for a coffee and yummy cake before going up the hill .or coming down after a walk or when visiting the shop.

Thank Cathie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, so pleased you enjoy Rothiemurchus Centre and The Druie and hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is quite a popular, dinky little place, with plenty of room to eat outside, weather permitting. There is also a great gift shop and farm shop as part of the establishment. The soup was great...homemade, tasty. A good choice of homemade cakes. We had scones ( choice of fruit, plain or cheese) with jam and clotted cream...really very nice. Ideal for morning or afternoon coffee, or a light lunch.

1  Thank Peta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So glad you enjoyed your visit; thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fresh home baking, delicious coffee and if the sun is out and you can sit outside it’s beautiful. Staff are excellent and so friendly. Lovely part of the world

1  Thank Karen16657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you - our team are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing yummy Cullen skunk soup and Roast beef sandwiches. Scones and afternoon tea well worth a visit - you won't be disappointed

1  Thank Weimiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So pleased you enjoyed The Druie, thank you for your great review. Everything is freshly made, where possible grown here and the beef is from our pure bred herd of Highland cattle, traditionally reared on our grass, sheltered from the rain, snow and sun by pine trees and aged for at least four weeks by Brian the Rothiemurchus inhouse butcher. Leaf teas, expert scone makers zero food miles.
hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Druie also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Druie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing