We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 19:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glasgow
from US$39,90
More Info
from US$51,50
More Info
from US$131,40
More Info
from US$29,60
More Info
Reviews (3 045)
Filter reviews
3 045 results
Traveller rating
1 762
1 053
198
25
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 762
1 053
198
25
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glasgow cathedral john knox buried here grave stones wee willie winkie victorian cemetery bridge of sighs great view of the city royal infirmary worth the climb peaceful place sunny day nice walk interesting place walk around lots of history worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 3 045 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Revisited recently. Walk by the Cathedral and cross the bridge. I usually go left and walk up to the top. At the top you will see many lovely Celtic cross memorials. Great view over to the Cathkin Braes. Continue in a clockwise direction and you will come to the Monteith Mausoleum. As you continue you will come to the McGavin, MacFarlane monuments and the John Knox obelisk. Great views over to the Cathedral and Glasgow Royal Infirmary. Very peaceful. I usually allow about an hour to visit. The last time I did it I combined it with a visit to Glasgow Cathedral and Provand's Lordship. All 3 can be done in 2-3 hours.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank tamkearney52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I always love wandering in graveyards when visiting new places. I am fascinated by the age and the way different cultures adorn their graves. When I read about the Necropolis I knew it was a must-visit for me and it did not disappoint. I wish I could have gone closer to sunset, but since that is around 10:30pm in June, late morning had to do. Its a good walk and in some cases steep if you have trouble walking, but the view from the top is incredible. You can take in the view of the cathedral, the great Glasgow area, and of course the many more headstones that are all around the pathways around the Necropolis. The graves here are old, but not medieval. Most were 1800-1900's. Highly recommend stopping by to take a nice stroll and get a different view of Glasgow.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank srdamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Next to Glasgow Cathedral is the fine example of a Victorian graveyard. Spend a few minutes walking up to the top to see the range of headstones, effigies and other memorials of those who are buried here. The high spot, quite literally, is the monument to John Knox at the top of the cemetery.
It is also worth mentioning the fine views across Glasgow from this vantage point

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank whetstoneview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Some travelers may find the elevation a bit difficult, but nothing to prevent anyone from going. The view is gorgeous and the tombs present a very nice look into the past. Much history is written on some of the tombs, and it can be accessed by anyone. However, a tour would have given us more context.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Keven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

If you insist on showing that you were rich, the grave and funerary art can be a way to do it. Pleasant to take a walk, read some of the writings and enjoy Glasgow views.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Anfrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews