We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will take more than one visit to see it all.”

The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel
Ranked #14 of 340 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Riverside Museum is Glasgow's award-winning transport museum. With over 3,000 objects on display there's everything from skateboards to locomotives, paintings to prams and cars to a Stormtrooper. Get hands on with our interactive displays. Walk through Glasgow streets and visit the shops, bar and subway. Climb aboard a train, tram or bus and get a real feel for old public transport. Discover Glasgow's rich shipbuilding history, explore the car and motorbike walls and help put out a fire with our interactive fire engine. There are over 90 large touch screens panels full of images, memories and films that tell the fascinating stories behind the objects. There really is something for all ages to enjoy at the Riverside Museum.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is more than you can see in one day. An excellent museum, we wish we could have returned another day to see what we missed the first time. Excellent presentation of transportation. Highly recommend spending a few hours going through this place.
You also need to check out the tall ship just outside on the river. I have reviewed this separately.

Thank beachbums_ceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside M, Manager at The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your nice feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7 946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tall ship"
in 1 573 reviews
"old cars"
in 294 reviews
"glasgow street"
in 173 reviews
"model ships"
in 142 reviews
"cobbled street"
in 116 reviews
"all ages"
in 619 reviews
"street scene"
in 95 reviews
"sailing ship"
in 115 reviews
"free entry"
in 347 reviews
"trip down memory lane"
in 100 reviews
"few hours"
in 195 reviews
"new building"
in 132 reviews
"on display"
in 253 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 112 reviews
"hop on hop off bus"
in 76 reviews
"rainy day"
in 185 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 152 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 7 946 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family, including a 5 and 7 year old, had a pleasant time here but when we left, I didn't feel that it was something we wouldn't have seen in the USA. I know my kids enjoyed themselves a lot but I probably would choose a different place to visit in Glasgow if I had a chance to do it over.

Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside M, Manager at The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your feedback, not seen any attraction in the USA that was free like the Riverside Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was big and such a variety of memorabilia to see and digest a hand cafe on the premises you could spend all day there

Thank lesjsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside M, Manager at The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We liked it very much! This is not for only children, adults can enjoy it so much. There are lot of things to see, amazing vintage designe.

Thank Nikoletta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside M, Manager at The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here on a Hop on Hop off bus tour. (NB There is a very large pay and display car park here) As with all Glasgow museums entry was free with a suggested donation of £5 per person which seemed very reasonable. This is a very large modern museum with an extensive selection of transport throughout the ages. There are some wall mounted displays of exhibits which give a good view of each item, although some people may like to be able to have a closer examination.
Many examples are available to walk around with short written descriptions and often humorous contemporary comments. Larger exhibits include a tram and a trolley bus and there are other opportunities to walk into examples from a bygone era , such as the subway.
One of the high spots is the Victorian street with its pawn shop, pub and selection of shops. The main feature is a horse drawn dray, including the horse.
On the same site is a tall ship to visit, a small shop and a café. Unfortunately we did not have much time so paid only a cursory visit. We will allow more time when we next visit Glasgow as 2-3 hours would enable a much more detailed look at what is, not only a fantastic collection of exhibits but also a commentary on the social history of Glasgow's important industrial past.
This visit was in November 2016 but the review is very late as I thought I had already submitted a number of Scottish reviews which I have only just discovered in draft form.

Thank whetstoneview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel also viewed

 

Been to The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing