We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glasgow
from US$319,39
More Info
from US$134,07
More Info
from US$19,72
More Info
Reviews (8 508)
Filter reviews
8 508 results
Traveller rating
5 500
2 102
585
198
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5 500
2 102
585
198
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tall ship old cars glasgow street model ships all ages cobbled street street scene sailing ship free entry trip down memory lane new building on display interactive displays hop on hop off bus rainy day few hours great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 8 508 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My family, including a 5 and 7 year old, had a pleasant time here but when we left, I didn't feel that it was something we wouldn't have seen in the USA. I know my kids enjoyed themselves a lot but I probably would choose a different place to visit in Glasgow if I had a chance to do it over.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside M, Manager at The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thanks for your feedback, not seen any attraction in the USA that was free like the Riverside Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Was big and such a variety of memorabilia to see and digest a hand cafe on the premises you could spend all day there

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lesjsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside M, Manager at The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We liked it very much! This is not for only children, adults can enjoy it so much. There are lot of things to see, amazing vintage designe.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank nikolettal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside M, Manager at The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We stopped here on a Hop on Hop off bus tour. (NB There is a very large pay and display car park here) As with all Glasgow museums entry was free with a suggested donation of £5 per person which seemed very reasonable. This is a very large modern museum with an extensive selection of transport throughout the ages. There are some wall mounted displays of exhibits which give a good view of each item, although some people may like to be able to have a closer examination.
Many examples are available to walk around with short written descriptions and often humorous contemporary comments. Larger exhibits include a tram and a trolley bus and there are other opportunities to walk into examples from a bygone era , such as the subway.
One of the high spots is the Victorian street with its pawn shop, pub and selection of shops. The main feature is a horse drawn dray, including the horse.
On the same site is a tall ship to visit, a small shop and a café. Unfortunately we did not have much time so paid only a cursory visit. We will allow more time when we next visit Glasgow as 2-3 hours would enable a much more detailed look at what is, not only a fantastic collection of exhibits but also a commentary on the social history of Glasgow's important industrial past.
This visit was in November 2016 but the review is very late as I thought I had already submitted a number of Scottish reviews which I have only just discovered in draft form.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank whetstoneview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile


This museum is not only rich in interesting exhibits, but it also has a very creative display manner and enriches the various objects by storytelling and recreating the atmosphere. Free access.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Anfrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews