We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Shieling

welcome to The Shieling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to The Shieling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
welcome to The Shieling
Towards St Andrews
Towards Carnoustie
Family shower room with 1400 x 900 shower
Twin room
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom
From rear lawn
Patio/BBQ area with fireplace
Play field with shelter
Stunning views
Evening view to St Andrews
Kissing gate
Visiting Pheasant family
Red squirrel lunching on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lorna M
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 5 days at this lovely property and wish we could have stayed longer. Great views, private, peaceful, well equipped, clean and comfy.
Loved the log burner which made it really cosy. Convenient for St Andrews and we found lots to do there. Don't miss the steak barn at Balgove Larder it was great fun and fantastic steaks. The larder stocks lots of great deli items, general groceries and pressies to take home.
Would love to visit again some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Would have liked a cafetiere and some milk on arrival (small points)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy B
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just absolutely perfect...”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just back from a wonderful week at The Shieling. This cottage is just a little piece of heaven. The location is perfect, the views are outstanding, the cottage has everything you need, it’s perfect. When you put that together with the lovely owners who just want you to have an amazing experience it’s really hard to give higher praise.
This cottage is perfect for couples or families. It’s peaceful, yet close enough to everything Fife and Dundee have to offer. It was lovely to have such a personal welcome from Moira, and the welcome pack of goodies was a nice surprise. We were lucky to have really good weather all week but in this location I would honestly say the weather was just a bonus. To add to the perfect ambience in the cottage there is the most amazing log fire! All in all, this is one of the best cottages we have stayed in. I look forward to booking again! If there was a rating of +5 on this site I would certainly give it to The Shieling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, customer service, ambience
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvthesun...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with wonderful views of St Andrews”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful holiday in the luxury of the The Shieling. The accommodation is of an excellent standard and what a joy to wake up to the views, from in the master bedroom, over the countryside to the Tay estuary beyond. Everything we could want in self catering accommodation was provided and it was lovely to meet the owners Moira and Bob with our welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, bread etc. It was home from home only I wish mine was as superb as this!!! We really felt pampered.
The Shieling is convenient to St Andrews and Dundee and near Leuchers where you can park and get the train to Edinburgh.
A definate must stay if you are in the St Andrews area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the facilities
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place ”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this property for three nights. Although I had seen the pictures on the internet I was still surprised at how lovely this house was. Inside there is everything you need including dish washer and washing machine. The log burner in the living room was amazing and made the evening so cosy. The kids loved toasting marshmallows in the chimnea outside.
The owners had even set up a toddler bed for our son. Free wi fi kept our teenager happy!
Would recommend this property to anyone. Great to be in the country and get peace and quiet yet still near enough to the various towns and villages.
Would definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sh35109
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic rental!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay at The Shieling was wonderful. The house was beautiful - exactly as advertised and shown in photo's. It was wonderfully clean, and the beds very comfortable. The view was totally amazing. The house was well-equipped with everything you would need. We loved exploring the surrounding areas and it was great to come home each time to the peace and tranquillity of this wonderful home. Moira was very friendly and easy to deal with and I would not hesitate in recommending this house to a friend. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing