We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greyfriars Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kinnettles Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vardon House(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Hazelbank Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
148
136
36
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
136
36
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselection of beersrestaurant downstairscentral locationgood sizelarge roomfamily roombreakfast was includedtown centrecomfortable staygolf tripbed and breakfastyogurtgolf coursejintyandrewsfloorboardssofa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed 2 night here. This is a little gem in St Andrews. Room was spacious and recently decorated,bed was comfy. Great shower. The bar staff were very friendly and the chef made sure your food was perfect. I will be returning to this comfy,friendly well positioned hotel

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Bronwyne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Greyfriars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A well located Inn in the centre of St Andrews. We stayed in a double room on the second floor that looked on to the main road leading towards the West Sands and the main town centre . The room was clean, warm and comfortably furnished. The bathroom could have done with some attention eg a broken bath panel and a little bit of mould on the bath seal. However it was also warm and clean with nice toiletries. We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival from the young man on reception who could not have been more helpful. Breakfast is served in the bar area. There was no smell in the morning of alcohol in the bar area so full marks to the cleaners and staff for making flexible use of this space. Check out was simple and straightforward and a lovely lady with a Moray (?) accent said she hoped we would come back. We will!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We were booked to stay for two nights at The Greyfriars Inn for a University Open Day. Excellent location as it is so close to the Uni and the Main Street in St Andrews with shops and restaurants etc.
Plus points are location, staff were very friendly and helpful and the evening meal we had was very tasty and reasonably priced. The breakfast was nice with a good choice.
However, we decided to cut our visit short and leave after one night because we had very little sleep due to the constant noise of people singing and shouting until about 2.30am as they walked down the road. I got up at one point because I thought I must have left the window open but alas no it was shut!! We were in room 104 which is above the restaurant and overlooking the car park. We were woken early by traffic and street noise and just couldn’t cope with another night of so little sleep.
I’m sorry to say that although the hotel has many plus points - room was small but clean and bed was very comfy! I can’t recommend the hotel to anyone who needs a good nights sleep!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank kassytbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

A wee break, nice wee hotel for a nice wee break in St. Andrews,nice friendly staff and clean rooms,and breakfast great . Plenty television if you want to sit and watch sports good selection of beers and whiskey, not to hard on the wallet

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank gloryglory1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at Greyfriars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for your review
We hope you come back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal, well priced and with lovely staff. The male waiter was very attentive and made sure we were happy with our meal. The atmosphere was great and the decor lovely. There was a varied menu and the food tasted great, the children’s menu was varied as well. I would certainly return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mcgorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at Greyfriars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thanks for your nice review
The team and us would love to see you all back some time soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews