We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
US$447
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveller rating
511
235
97
38
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
511
235
97
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea chateaubriand tom morris sea view west sands lovely hotel a lovely stay birthday treat first class an overnight stay lovely room high standard town centre hdv alistair andrews glasgow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 916 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay in the hotel du vin in St Andrews. We normally stay in the bigger hotels in St Andrews
We booked a deluxe room.
Room was lovely, huge comfy bed, lovely big bathroom. Nespresso machine.
Breakfast was lovely . Dinner was especially good, as were the vodka martinis . The biggest praise goes to the staff. So friendly and welcoming, professional and efficient, while at ease with guests.
We will definitely book here again.

Room tip: Parking is free at the front of the hotel it’s busy but you get a space if you are patient. Dog friendly but you hardly notice them.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Odyssey24765157523
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve Bernier, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Thank you for your recent visit and I am delighted you had great stay made extra special by the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more Vodka Martinis.

Best wishes
Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021

Despite previous experience of this hotel chain being pretentious and overpriced, I thought I would give it another chance…..bad move.

Attempts to book & guarantee a ‘Classic’ (standard) room with king sized bed (available as per website) were thwarted by Hotel du Vin central booking system bureaucracy so I upgraded to a Deluxe room @ > £300/night B&B, obviously expecting something a little bit special for this price.

On arrival by car, two aspects were immediately obvious; the location was superb and the challenges faced in parking a car were not insignificant.

The Deluxe room proved to be a major disappointment, very dark with few useful lights, a view to a car park at the rear and the absence of a bath, even though the space in the bathroom clearly allowed for one. Upon enquiring, it appears that the only ‘addition’ in a Deluxe room (apart from a few extra square feet floor area) is an A/C unit which, because of typical East Coast Haar (Sea Fog), was never used.

Sleep on both nights was interrupted by a combination of noise from the car park and doors slamming in the hotel.

Breakfast in the morning was a pretty poor effort, both quality & quantity (single cup of coffee, single egg etc.).

St. Andrews is a wonderful place to visit but there are far better places to stay than the Hotel du Vin.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve Bernier, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Geoffrey,
Thank for your visit and I am sorry we came short of your expectations on this occasion. Our website description of our Deluxe room is as you mentioned, with few other added extras.
We received great feedback on our breakfast and offer hot drink refill, our standards is 2 eggs per serving unless only is requested and I apologise that only 1 was served on this occasion!
Best wishes
Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

Thank you to all the staff for all there help making our anniversary so special . We had a family weekend and a private room for lunch on the Saturday the food was lovely and staff so helpful. The rooms are large with everything you would need very clean . The hotel has lots of space for meeting large families. The hotel is in an amazing location very easy for visiting different parts of St Andrews .

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank junesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve Bernier, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

June,
Delighted you had a great time celebrating a Wedding anniversary. It was a please looking after you.
Very best wishes
Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2021

We had our wedding at Hotel Du Vin St Andrews at the end of June and it was perfect. The team were so welcoming from the start and with communication beginning via email due to covid we thought this might be difficult but we received the same treatment as we would face to face. Such helpful staff throughout the lead up and on the day the hotel manager and event coordinator ensured everything ran smoothly.
Aside from all things wedding, the rooms, food and scenery are all fantastic. Even for an evening meal we would highly recommend this hotel for atmosphere and a walk along the beach, we are so delighted to have found HDV and will most definitely be staying here when we return to St Andrews in the future.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NicRy2914
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve Bernier, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2021

Nicole,
It was a great pleasure to look after your special day. Have a fab Honeymoon and loads of happiness together.
Delighted everyone had a great time.
Very best wishes
Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

This really is the perfect location in St Andrews, right in the beachfront and in the Center of St Andrews. Everything is walkable. Nice hotel inside, we had a deluxe room - huge comfortable bed with the best shower. All deluxe rooms face the back so not a great view of the car park!

Friends had a standard room and faced the sea so that’s a bit disappointing that the more expensive rooms have the worst views.

In the bar they do cocktails however these were really awful. Stick to standard drinks as cocktails are not their speciality.

We would definitely stay there again for the comfortable rooms and fabulous location.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve Bernier, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Ann,

Thank you for you recent visit and please you enjoyed your stay. We only have one standard room with Seaview but is on the small side.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the cocktails ordered and I will share your comment with the team. Please accept my sincere apologies for coming short of our usual standards on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Best wishes.

Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews