We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 405)
Filter reviews
1 405 results
Traveller rating
1 069
240
70
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 069
240
70
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turret room country house hotel homemade shortbread kinness lodge molton brown toiletries terrace restaurant stunning gardens orchard suite a hot water bottle teddy bear first class the main hotel turn down service lovely hotel afternoon tea high standard sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 1 405 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Wonderful helpful friendly staff. Excellent service. Food locally sourced where possible and very tasty. Would recommend to those who want a small luxury hotel in close proximity to St Andrews and Fife coastal area.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank htur2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Glad to hear that the visit had clearly been a very good one, and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

The hotel is a great place to use as a base when visiting the area - we are close to the town, the golf, the beaches as well as the fab coastal villages, with the added benefit of giving a wee bit of peace and tranquility to escape to after a long day.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

A very enjoyable few days. The refurbished restaurant was certainly different but very nice indeed. Food quality and the whole experience was excellent. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and made you feel valued as a guest. Certainly looking forward to a return visit.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin14750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Martin

Many thanks for the feedback - glad to see that you enjoyed the changes to our Seasosn restaurant, and we look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I love an afternoon tea and visited Rufflets today. Staff were helpful and the hotel was very clean and classy. However areas to sit were chilly except one. Given that it was 4 degrees outside and the hotel was busy the fires should have been burning brightly. Radiators were on though. The afternoon tea selection was good but tea was served way before the food and there was no offer of refill - to us anyway. Toilets were clean and Molton Brown hand wash and hand cream available. At £24.00pp we've experienced better. I wouldn't put anyone off visiting but other good quality hotels do afternoon teas better.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Not our best Rufflets experience - compared to previous visits. Getting very expensive ! Lovely hotel and staff very professional and welcoming. Not sure about the new restaurant style/ modern layout and furnishings - preferred the traditional style.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Gerry

Many thanks for the feedback - and sorry that the recent stay wasnt as perfect as the previous ones. For some the new design of the restaurant is taking time to get to like, and as always, we do try hard to keep our prices as keen as we can, but we are seeing continued increases in what we pay for our various supplies.

Hope that this won't prevent you from coming back - and as always do keep an eye on our website for the special offers that we have from time to time.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A wonderful venue for a wedding. Everything was organised with calm efficiency. The gardens provided the ideal location for wedding photos and the conference centre was large enough to accommodate all the guests and to allow for alternative space for guests who wanted a quiet space away from the band in the evening. Food was delicious and the waiting staff knew without asking who had asked for special dietary options.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helenrowlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for the kind feedback - and as always we were delighted to read how well it had all gone. As a team we do work hard to make it all look simple, and it is reassuring to see when it is appreciated.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews