We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok but that's all”

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club
Ranked #42 of 155 Restaurants in St Andrews
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Have eaten here before (a few years ago) so thought ideal place to take our family (menu much better on earlier visit than yesterday)!! certain items not available on main menu (which was a shame as a few of us would have eaten fish & chips)!!, No fanta for grandkids or lime cordial for a soda water & lime. 50 mins until food served then granddaughters burger took another 10mins after that (totally unacceptable to leave a child watching everyone else eat). Food was Ok so decided we (8 of us) would all have dessert, but NO sticky toffee pudding available either.... so The Vic lost out as decided against dessert & went elsewhere...Easter Sunday & 1st available table booking was 5pm (which we had) & too many unavailable meals so VERY disappointed & won't be back

Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicCafe, General Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Val,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I apologise for the menu availability during your visit alongside the long waits on food and would agree that this is not acceptable and does not reflect our high levels of service.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss your feedback please contact call me on 01334 476964.

Thank you,

Stewart Aitken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

11 of us for dinner, Saturday night, place was half full throughout. 20 minutes wait on 4 drinks. Then took our food order, came back to say a substantial proportion unavailable (steak we could understand, mac and cheese, not so much). 1 hour wait for starters (which were mainly sides) 1 hour wait for mains after that. No apology apart from the 5 mins before the food was about to come out, still another 10 mins though. Food was average at best, nothing special so wouldn’t have recommended anyway. Waited a painful amount of time for the bill, eventually came with the Mac and cheese still on it. 10 min wait to feedback to the manager. Gave us 20% off the bill in the end which was a decent gesture but decided still wanted to leave the review as the overall experience was not worth it regardless of discount. PS not sure if the vibe of a place that shows Casualty on the tv, then the rest of the BBC Saturday night schedule throughout...

Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Charlotte,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your experience as this does not reflect our usual standards of service. I completely understand your complaints about the availability of dishes on the menu and your wait times on food.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to contact me on 01334 476964.

Thanks,

Stewart Aitken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely food, great service and child friendly too. Waitress was so nice and really helpful when we ordered. Everything came to the table quickly and the food (burgers) was delicious. Baby chair was provided and generally loving having a baby in the restaurant was a nice surprise as some restaurants can be less than happy about it! Will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely lunch in a lovely environment. It was a real treat.

Thank Ilovetravelling777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really do appreciate it!

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit so much! If you could let us know what day you were in we would love to pass this on to the team on shift that day.

We have since bought some new books for our shelves including some kids books so keep an eye out when you next visit.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
The Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

I have been to Vics twice recently for Sunday lunch. Food is good, burgers are great, nachos to beef/cream etc. could be improved as there were too many nachos. The service is all over the place, as we needed to ask to order and they make a passing 'are you okay' comment without actually focusing on you for 5 seconds.
Overall good but small improvements would make it very good/great.
It states that the hot dogs are British, but it would be nice to see where they source their other meat from - hopefully Scotland or Britain too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank onmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, we really do appreciate it!

I am so sorry to hear about the service you received. Please know we take every review on board and will be looking into this further. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and hope you see a noticeable improvement.

Thank you,
The Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

At the weekend we had a cocktail master class and meal at the Vic for my friend’s hen party. The lovely Saski was our host and nothing as a bother for her, very helpful, a bridesmaids dream. Everyone in our group had a fab time including the Mums. I would highly recommend a cocktail master class at the Vic. Thank you Saski

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annieg301186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicCafe, General Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hi Annie,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review - I'm sure Saski will be thrilled when I pass this on to her! I'm very glad you enjoyed your Masterclass and we hope to welcome you back to the Vic soon.

Thanks again,

Stewart Aitken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing