We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to visit”

The Kelpies & The Helix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Helix covers over 350 hectares of green space between Falkirk and Grangemouth. The Helix includes The Kelpies, the world's largest equine statues and from Summer 2014, a waterside cafe, lagoon and adventure play zone. The jewel in The Helix project is The Kelpies - Standing at 30 metres tall and weighing over 300 tonnes each. To get up close and persoanl with The Kelpies our tours let you get inside the magnificient structures and guided tour tickets are available now at our website. The Kelpie visitor centre will also open to the public complete with eatery and gift shop following this...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to the motorway and well sign posted , a unique attraction , well worth a visit. If it's a nice day park at first car park, then a really enjoyable walk to the Kelpie, if raining go to the second car park and it's then only a short walk . Really unique statues in a lovely canals idea setting . A well stocked visitor centre and an outside cafe serving a large range of food .

Thank christopherjd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCTTheHelix, Clerical Assistant at The Kelpies & The Helix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review - I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and we also agree - the Kelpies are quite unique!
We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Helix, home of the Kelpies again soon.
Kind regards
Vickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"car park"
in 282 reviews
"guided tour"
in 181 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 235 reviews
"falkirk wheel"
in 247 reviews
"football stadium"
in 50 reviews
"play park"
in 90 reviews
"under construction"
in 51 reviews
"andy scott"
in 55 reviews
"horse heads"
in 51 reviews
"amazing sculptures"
in 62 reviews
"lit up at night"
in 44 reviews
"dog walkers"
in 33 reviews
"on site"
in 75 reviews
"sunny day"
in 57 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 33 reviews
"gift shop"
in 77 reviews
"amazing sight"
in 28 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 2 785 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Following the postcode supplied brought us back on to the motorway where the SatNav pronounced we had arrived at our destination!!!

Once we finally found our way there they were imposing and amazing structures. We returned after dark to see them lit up and were disappointed to find that they were only one colour and that it didn't change colour for us at all in over half an hour that we waited

Thank claudette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCTTheHelix, Clerical Assistant at The Kelpies & The Helix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear the postcode didn't bring you to us - we are very close to the motorway and some SatNavs do struggle to find us we are relatively new and had to get a brand new postcode (FK2 7ZT) created for us!
I am also sorry to hear that you didn't get to see the Kelpies changing colour after dark as this is quite a spectacular sight. The Kelpies usually do change colour through the night, but there are some evenings when they stay one colour all night and this is normally in support of a charity who have made a request. We do try to keep our visitors up to date with this via social media, but I apologise if we missed this one :(
I hope you will visit us again here at the Helix, the home of the Kelpies.
Kind regards
Vickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The venue and attraction itself are amazing however the Visitors Centre Gift Shop is a rip off. We paid £17.50 each for a T-shirt of very poor quality and are in no way the size described. I bought an CLEAR which is allegedly a size 18/20. Opened it today (April) just before a trip abroad. Very thin material and only a size 12 at a push. When I rang this morning to complain I was asked if I could bring it back. I live 200 + miles away. I offered to post it for a full refund including return postage. There was no-one (including the Duty Manager) who could make a decision - pathetic! All they could offer was a call back tomorrow when I will be en-route to Italy Purchase at your peril!

Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCTTheHelix, Visitor Services Supervisor at The Kelpies & The Helix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback and I would like to apologise that the situation was not resolved at the time of you contacting the Visitor Centre.
There was some uncertainty over processing a return that had been sold three months previously that the team member wanted to clarify however, after a phone conversation, I believe we have resolved the situation.
We do have a selection of the t-shirts out on display so that our visitors can get an idea of the sizing and material prior to making any purchases but your comments about the sizing and quality of the t-shirt will be fed back to the supplier as providing a range of high quality items to our visitors is important to us.
Kind regards
Kirstin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove to the Kelpies and fortunately managed to get parked as spaces are limited, it looks like it might be better to use public transport or the canal tow paths and cycle or walk if possible. The Kelpies are nothing short of spectacular, I had no idea they were so big, they really have to be seen to be believed. There are plenty of places to eat round about the kelpies and Helix park.
The park is great for all, the kids loved it.

Thank GrahamG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCTTheHelix, Clerical Assistant at The Kelpies & The Helix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit here at the Helix, the home of the Kelpies, and they really are something that need to be seen up close to appreciate their size!
We have 178 spaces available in our main car park closest to the Kelpies (charges apply April-October), 75 free spaces in the smaller car park closest to the Helix Park, and additional free parking available at the Falkirk Football Stadium (except on match days), but we do recommend using public transport, cycling or walking to visit the Helix where possible as our car parks do get very busy on weekends, during school holidays and or days when the weather is particularly nice.
We hope you will visit us again very soon.
Kind regards
Vickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a must visit and absolutely unique and cannot be seen anywhere else in the world. You can take a tour of the Kelpies, enjoy a barge trip, relax in the visitor centre and have some refreshments in the cafe. Free WIFI. There are great walks around lagoons and further afield on the Helix North/South pathways. The splash zone is great for the snall people but take a change of clothing for the small people.

Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCTTheHelix, Clerical Assistant at The Kelpies & The Helix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and we are indeed very lucky to have the unique Kelpies calling the Helix their home :)
Thank you also for the great advice about bringing a change of clothes for those small (or large!) people playing in the splash play.
The splash play is due to run at weekends until the end of June, then daily throughout July and August, but if the splash play is the main reason for your visit, we do recommend checking it is in operation by calling our Visitor Centre on 01324 590 600 to avoid any disappointment - small or large!
We do hope you will continue to enjoy to visit us here at the Helix, the home of the Kelpies and that your next visit will be soon.
Kind regards
Vickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kelpies & The Helix also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Kelpies & The Helix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing