We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent engineering”
Review of Falkirk Wheel

Falkirk Wheel
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Falkirk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 35-meter-high rotating boat lift, the world’s first, connects the Forth & Clyde and Union canals.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Excellent visit, ride on wheel was a great engineering concept which still in use today with the canal boats near by where you can rent. Lovely café and toilet facilities too, plenty car parking too. Friendly staff too, but you must book ahead for the wheel as it gets busy

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank CBM5638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 695 reviews
"amazing piece of engineering"
in 169 reviews
"feat of engineering"
in 225 reviews
"rotating boat lift"
in 65 reviews
"modern engineering"
in 72 reviews
"unique experience"
in 50 reviews
"union canal"
in 146 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 333 reviews
"gift shop"
in 223 reviews
"short trip"
in 59 reviews
"play area"
in 104 reviews
"antonine wall"
in 90 reviews
"on site"
in 94 reviews
"plenty of parking"
in 54 reviews
"sunny day"
in 56 reviews
"car park"
in 129 reviews
"action"
in 336 reviews
Filter

350 - 354 of 4 813 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Amazing to watch the wheel in action moving pleasure craft from top to bottom and vice-versa. My only disappointment was that I thought it moved larger vessels. Oh well, still AMAZING. Very beautiful as well as functional.
Visitors center is spacious and has good food offerings and restroom facilities.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank glkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The Falkirk Wheel is a very impressive piece of engineering. We stopped off on the way to the Highlands and were not disappointed by the sheer brilliance of how the whole thing works and how little energy it uses to lift the boats up and down between the levels. We were however a little disappointed by the boat trip in that for our £11 each we were promised a boat trip of 50 minutes which turned out much shorter and although the live commentary was amusing it felt like "padding." Going up and down the boat lift was good but the rest of the ride only involved going a very short way along the top, through the tunnel and back. The recorded commentary was very interesting. We also enjoyed strolling through the landscaped areas around the wheel and visiting the scale models of the Kelpies......one tenth of the size of the real ones in Helix Park. All in all very interesting but the sort of thing you only need to do once unless of course you hire a canal boat for a holiday and need to use the wheel. In that case it would be free!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank wendyw59482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stopped here on the way back from holiday and was very glad we did. The history of the canals and the feat that rejoined them is amazing to see. You can pay to go on a boat that takes you on the wheel up to the upper level and back down again after a journey through a tunnel. It was very popular. We had a snack in the cafe whilst watching the operation. Lovely place.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Visited here before going on to the Kelpies. Amazing structure, lots of information about its construction & operation available on signs, in leaflets, via the staff & also during the short boat trip. The 'boat lift' itself is interesting, but there's not that much to see during the actual boat trip, although glimpsing the Kelpies in the distance on the way back was certainly a highlight. Nice park & public area set-up, & the cafe has locally sourced, made on the premises offerings which looked delicious & are certainly not at 'captive audience' prices. We just had a cuppa here, as opposed to lunch, which in hindsight was a mistake, as I think lunch here would have been much better in every way to what we ended up with! Wouldn't necessarily visit again, but if anyone is planning a Kelpies visit, I would recommend also doing this if you're going to be in the area. Also highly recommended for those with a technical interest in the apparatus' construction & operation, & a good idea to combine with a Kelpies visit if your party has a mixture of technical &/or cultural bods (as ours did) - keeps everyone happy!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Falkirk Wheel also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Falkirk Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing