We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely flat close to the sea”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
restelle2...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely flat close to the sea”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Very nice, homely flat in central Portobello - close to shops, beach, pub. Owner was very accommodating and we had a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write the review Estelle. I'm delighted everything worked out and thanks to you guys for leaving the place really clean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“It was really a Lovely Portobello Flat”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It was a very peaceful and a pleasant stay in the Lovely Portobello Flat. The apartment was clean and tidy and the owner was very kind person. Most importantly the beach was just 2 minutes walk from the apartment. I would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thanks for writing the review. And thanks for leaving it so clean and tidy too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trepidtra...
Yorkshire Dales
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pet friendly, people friendly, pocket friendly at festival time”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

To be close to festival action or for luxury, look elsewhere. For us, this second floor (US third floor) flat worked very well. It provides a big double bedroom, living room with a double sofabed (more comfortable to sleep on than sit on), a table and four dining chairs, very narrow kitchen with essentials plus washing machine, tiny bathroom with over-the-bath shower. No lift, no TV, some rough edges. Good value in context of Edinburgh at festival time. Good liaison with helpful owners, who live there the rest of the year.

50 metres to basic (Coop) supermarket, 100 metres to bus stop on High Street, about 25 mins on bus from there to Princes Street (city centre), choice of several buses. Unlimited bus pass currently £4 a day per adult, £8.50 per family. The suburb of Portobello offers promenade and beach of fine sand (blows about on windy days) 150 metres from the flat. Car parking is free but very limited. Lots of takeaways and restaurants within five minute walk. Our perception of the area was safe, notably welcoming, quite attractive without being ‘manicured’, dog & family friendly. Relaxed Portobello offered welcome contrast to struggling through dense city centre crowds, trying to find obscure festival venues. Recommended. Would gladly stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write the review and for including lots of detail. I'm sure this will prove useful to potential guests booking through the website. Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful few days in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My daughter and I wanted to come to Edinburgh to do a bit of sightseeing and bonding time. We viewed a few other apartments before booking this one, partly inspired by it having a piano, which my daughter enjoyed playing. Not being familiar with the area at all we were not sure what to expect of Edinburgh or Portobello. We are so glad we stayed here. The owners, (who live in the apartment when not rented out) were absolutely lovely - great communication and very helpful.
In terms of the beach, I have to be honest and say that I was expecting something a bit industrial, but I couldn't have been more wrong. It was a lovely clean and sandy beach, with a great cafe (The Boathouse) and family pub (The Espy). This was all about 2 minutes walk away, if that, and being by the sea gave a great balance to the busyness of Edinburgh. We had brought a car but did not use it at all to get into the city centre which was around 3 miles away. The buses 26 and 15 were so easy, regular and cheap. We paid £1.50 each for each way, which was much cheaper than parking in Edinburgh, took about 20 minutes and at most we waited 6 minutes! A £4 all day ticket would have got us a day's worth of hopping on and off buses if we wanted to. Portobello itself has loads of shops, restaurants etc. A small Scotmid supermarket which would be good enough for most things was about 1 minutes walk away. The apartment was well equipped, clean and had lovely original features - it had a lovely, relaxed feeling to it. I would definitely come back here again. The only people I would not recommend it to are those with mobility issues as there were a few stairs to get up to the apartment. I am not remotely fit and I could easily manage them though. Thankyou very much!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Glad you had such a nice time in Portobello & Edinburgh, thanks for taking the time to write this really great review. We were very happy to host you and your daughter and we hope to meet you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jitixa M
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Live like a Home sweet Home”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I would say if someone leaving their cozy and comfortable home sweet home behind them just to see Haven on the earth in Edinburgh, Scotland don't need to miss your home if you lease this apartment in the middle of the town of Portobello near North sea.

It was so hard for me to leave this home when my lease ends and home owner came to get the key I was not ready to give him key.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home owner couple
Liked least: Entrance of the building feel little scatchy
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thanks for the review and so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our apartment! I hope the rest of your trip went well too, look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing