We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening - yet again!”

Hewat's on the Mile
Ranked #62 of 2 804 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$44
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Transit: The Main Bus routes stop 150 metres away on South Clerk or Newington Road which runs paralel to Causewayside Bus numbers that stop on this Route are 3,5,7,8,29,31,37,47,x47,49,14,30,33,48. The number 42 stops on Causewayside.
Description: A well-established restaurant in Edinburgh since 2005, family-run Hewat's seamlessly blends Scottish produce and elegant French cooking techniques. In the striking dining room, glittering chandeliers and ruby-red furnishings are swirled throughout, while a plush, baroque-style private area can be cordoned off with thick drapes. Speciality dishes include Aberdeen Angus beef, and fresh Scottish seafood.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Been going to Hewat's since 2009 at its old premises and was keen to try out the new location. Was there for Hogmanay dinner and so the menu was specialised. I had a chicken balmoral and my partner had boar wellington, neither of us wanted to share as we were enjoying it so much!

Staff all very polite and attentive, in spite of them being very busy.

Glad to see Liam, Margaret and Richard thriving in their new location, and wish them all the best. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went with my dad and partner for lunch on Saturday. The food was Amazing! We had the crab and lobster parcels,seabass then sticky toffee pudding! All for £20 could not believe how good value it is for such quality food.I can't wait to go back and try everything on the lunch menu! Ps I hope the scaffolding comes down soon! Xxx

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ashx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Never in my life wrote a review before, but I couldn’t be more disappointed with this restaurant that used to be one of my first choices in town.
Not sure how the food is... I didn’t have the chance to try since the restaurant changed hands. So good luck for whoever gets a table in here...
I had a booking for a birthday meal and when I phoned to confirm the booking the girl on the phone told me they didn’t have it. But she told me she had a table available at 8pm. I told her We couldn’t get to the restaurant until 8:45/9pm because of work and she gave me another option at 8:30. I explained her again that we couldn’t make it at that time and she couldn’t be bothered about it even after missing my booking... The closing time of the kitchen is apparently 10pm(it means they should take orders until 10pm!) Be aware of it and remember to confirm your table or you could just turn up and be send away!

Date of visit: March 2018
4  Thank JaneRodgers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richie1971, Manager at Hewat's on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We had a booking under name Roger @ 7pm they did not show!! However received a call during evening requesting a table @10pm, last orders are 9.30pm. Why would we refuse to take a table at 8.45pm?? This to me is a malicious review and trip advisor refuse to take down??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Great food and excellent service. Lovely wee restaurant tucked away from the busy Royal Mile. Liam really helped us out with getting us sorted with a lovely whisky too.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Dropping in to the quaint restaurant in the stunning setting of the Royal Mile we were astonished with the high standards of our visit at a more than reasonable price. After finally selecting from an attractive menu we enjoyed three wonderful courses complimented by a good selection of drinks - suggested to us by the well informed bar man. Food & variety - 10/10, Drinks & selection - 10/10, atmosphere and welcoming staff - 10/10. I cannot wait to return!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hewat's on the Mile also viewed

 

Been to Hewat's on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing