We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour”

Edinburgh Gin Distillery
Ranked #11 of 433 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Advance booking is essential as we are unable to offer walk in tours. We only take bookings via the website below, so please check the availability on the link here: https://www.edinburghgin.com/distilleries-and-tours Located in the beating heart of Scotland's capital, the Edinburgh Gin Distillery is a destination quite unlike any other. It's here that we produce small batches of gin, inspired by the majesty, marvel and mischief of Edinburgh and its inhabitants. The Edinburgh Gin Visitor Centre is a space in the capital where you can indulge both the mind and the palate in all things gin. From taking a tour or a guided tasting, to trying your hand at making your own, our goal is the educate, excite and libate; all in equal measure.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Experienced a tour at the distillery last month. It was absolutely fantastic for what we paid. Alan had such a wealth of knowledge about gin and I learnt so much about the origins of it. It ended with a classic G&T which was lovely and 10% off in their shop which I naturally used. Would recommend this highly but you need to book early!!

1  Thank amakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghGin, Manager at Edinburgh Gin Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review of your tour with Alan. Booking is essential!
Kind regards
Tarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"connoisseur tour"
in 307 reviews
"discovery tour"
in 76 reviews
"tasting session"
in 61 reviews
"small bottle"
in 54 reviews
"rhubarb and ginger"
in 23 reviews
"gin tonic"
in 21 reviews
"distilling process"
in 24 reviews
"basic tour"
in 22 reviews
"great tour"
in 85 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 33 reviews
"great fun"
in 56 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"history lesson"
in 19 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 30 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 16 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 30 reviews
"small group"
in 16 reviews
Filter

54 - 58 of 1 507 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful time during our Gin Connoisseur Tour. Alan was fantastic, funny and full of facts, he really gave us the full story behind gin and his guiding though the tasting made the whole experience better. This was probably our favourite activity in Edinburgh, and a bargain at £25 each. Recommend very highly, book up as it gets full quickly!

2  Thank Vignesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghGin, Manager at Edinburgh Gin Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review of your tour with Alan. Very pleased to hear you found it good value for money and would recommend a visit.
Kind regards
Tarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We received vouchers for the Gin Connoisseur tour as a Christmas present but Easter weekend was the earliest slot we could get so make sure you book in advance!

Kelly our tour guide was really engaging and fun, and happy to answer any questions visitors had.

Unsurprisingly, tasting the gin was great fun but it was such a shame that there was none of the pomegranate and rose left to take home - that was my favourite! We really wanted to stay until the Heads and Tales bar opened but the afternoon gin had left us too tired!

We also received 10% off gift shop purchases as part of the tour so picked up a couple of miniatures to take home alongside the 200ml bottle we each received.

Not sure we'd have bought this for ourselves as we live in Edinburgh and it wouldn't have crossed our minds, but it'd be a great activity for anyone receiving it as a present or visiting the city!

2  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghGin, Manager at Edinburgh Gin Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with Kelly. So pleased to hear you have been enjoying your gin at home.
Do let us know how we could have made this a 5 star experience for you.
Kind regards
Tarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our guide was Alan and he delivered his tour with interest and humour. Great value for money. Good mix of history of gin in general and Edinburgh gin. Great setting and tasting booths helped bring everyone’s banter out with Alan - EG he never revealed the next big thing but we all wait with baited breath. Cracking samples. 10/10

1  Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghGin, Manager at Edinburgh Gin Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review of your tour with Alan. Keep your eyes peeled for our new gins!
Kind regards
Tarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not easy to find as it's in the cellars beneath the Huxley hotel/bar, but once you've found it, it's a gem of a place. We booked the gin connoisseur tour. Arrived a bit early so waited in the snug area. Loads of comfy shabby chic arm chairs and such. The tour was really informative and interesting, and Phillip, the host, kept it light, amusing and engaging. We were also shown the stills and their distilling process, and then we got on to the more important tasting part. The group was invited into a comfy, bijou room with all our gin laid out and we were taken through the whole tasting experience, guided on how best to enjoy each gin. All in, a great couple of hours, and well worth it. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghGin, Manager at Edinburgh Gin Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! I have passed on your compliments to Phil.

Kind regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Gin Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Gin Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing