We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Inviting, clean, good size, well kept and really...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Living Room Time to relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Living Room
Time to relax
Living room
Living Room
Living Room
Refreshment
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
The apartment has a funky Scottish interior style!
Kitchen
Kitchen  ... a well stocked home from home!
Kitchen
Our guests can expect a warm welcome!
Kitchen
Kitchen
Halls
Halls
Bath Room
Bath Room
Bath Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Entrance
Garden
Coffee and croissants in the south facing courtyard
Garden
Street
Welcome! ~ Ceud mìle fàilte ... 'A hundred thousand welcomes' (Scot's Gaelic)
Hall
Hall
Bedroom ... with bed made up as a kingsize
Bedroom made up as two single beds
Comfortable accommodation ... Egyptian cotton bedlinen and fluffy towels!
Spacious Living room
Fireplace
Stylish comfort ... and a wee dram to welcome our guests!
Leather sofa .... which is easily made into a double bed
Funky Scottish interior styling!
Kitchen with breakfast bar looking out onto quiet and leafy, cobbled lane
In the bathroom
Contemporary bathroom with shower over
Comfortable and relaxed atmosphere ...  in Edinburgh's historic New Town!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Leora2016
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inviting, clean, good size, well kept and really enjoyable.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent location. Easy to access. Really lovely and inviting. My daughter and I have stayed in many places and this was the best. Grocery store near. Shopping and restaurants also close. City transit buses 1/2 block away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Warm and welcoming feel and great first impression which delivered more
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for leaving a review. We are very pleased that you have rated your stay at 28a Cumberland Street so highly, especially as you are seasoned travellers. We pride ourselves on our high standard of cleanliness and work hard to ensure all our guests can relax as soon as they arrive. Whether a trip is for business or a holiday it is important to feel at home at the end of a long day! We hope to be able to welcome you back if you return to Scotland in future, Stuart & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture perfect!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Well the pictures seriously don't lie with this stunning apartment! What a lovely couple of days we had in this beautiful stylish accommodation. Everything is finished to a high standard and there is such a fine eye for detail. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived and the owners were so attentive answering any questions we had promptly (even on a Saturday!!) The apartment is so central , just a 5 minute walk from George Street. We all loved this gem and will definitely be back in the future.

Thank you very much for a lovely weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments! Its important for us that you can start enjoying Edinburgh and the apartment as soon as you arrive. Therefore we really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we'd love to welcome you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
68craigy
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent property and amazing location”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Can't speak highly enough of this property and location, it puts staying in a hotel in to perspective. A very short walk to George Street and Prince's Street. If you are up in Edinburgh and staying for a minimum of 2 nights, look no further than 28A Cumberland Street. We stay in nice hotels when we are up and decided to book an apartment as we were coming up for 5 nights and didn't want to be living out a hotel ecspecially with our young daughter. There is plenty of parking outside the apartment and its free all weekend, however the parking is very expensive, so might be worth looking at a permit if you are out with the weekend or getting a deal on the NCP which again is 5 mins away from the Apartment, the traffic wardens are relentless. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your stunning apartment, we will be back in the summer. We had a ball.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan Lounge, plenty of space.Location was excellent
Liked least: Has to be the bed. The bed was comfortable, it was just in the middle. Its obviously can be changed in to a twin, perhaps a mattress topper would be good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
We are delighted you had a fantastic time. We work hard to ensure our guests experience great value for money and enjoy a touch of luxury during their stay. The New Town area offers a peaceful retreat with interesting coffee shops, restaurants and independent shops on its doorstep. Many guests take advantage of free weekend parking or else use the park and ride or pre-book a parking space. We'd love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property is just excellent, beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. The equivalent suite in a hotel would cost ten times as much a night. The living room is extremely cosy, the candles were appreciated! We took pics to inform future decorating of our own properties! The kitchen had every utensil you would expect. The bedding was very comfortable, clean, and crisp! Loved the bathroom tap!:) The property is in an excellent location, with easy access to anywhere in Edinburgh. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again. Thank you so much for a fantastic stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decoration of the property.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review of your stay. We really want our guests to enjoy 28A Cumberland Street – it is our labour of love – and we believe that the benefits of a little bit of spoiling and luxury enhance memories of great times spent with family and friends. The New Town is a peaceful area of Edinburgh and we hope it has cast it’s spell and you can return to experience more of the magic another time … the same warm welcome will be waiting for you! W&S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fibe2015
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented, great location.....delightful”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect spot to return to after wandering all day. Lovely area. Extra touches made all the difference. A definite yes for this one.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Many thanks for leaving your review. We are delighted you had a great stay and also enjoyed the location … we believe the apartment offers the best of everything Edinburgh can offer - peacefully set within the UNESCO world heritage site but within walking distance of the busy city centre, and fashionable Stockbridge. It would be great to welcome you back again! W&S x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing