We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Rental that made our friends Jealous...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Master Bedroom (Twin or Super King size)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom (Twin or Super King size)
Fab kitchen Kitchen dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The Master Bedroom (Twin or Super King size)
Fab kitchen
Kitchen dining area
Kitchen sink
Second Bedroom (Twin or King size double)
Scottish art and fabrics aplenty
Calming bathroom
Tub for 2
Georgian Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Wood burning stove
Wood burner for a cosy night in
Tartans and Tweeds and soft cotton bed linen.
Tartan tassles
Quiet cup of tea for me
Kitchen
Entrance Hall
Victorian street lamps
Boutique shops on your doorstep
Classic West End cobbles towards Princes Street
Christmas & Hogmanay in the Snug
A great place to stay for Christmas or Hogmanay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Keith L
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rental that made our friends Jealous - Zero Negatives.”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I really enjoyed the snug. Andy was very accessible and emailed us with some great suggestions - he also left a few staples, such as milk, bread, and a delicious treat in the kitchen for us.
We had friends in the area who visit Edinburgh regularly and they were very Jealous of the place.
Just about anything you want to do in Edinburgh is within walking distance, and the snug is VERY comfortable if you need to stay in and recharge.
There are 3 bars within 50 feet - Bert's Bar, and Melville's on either side, and Teuchter's across the street. Next to Teuchter's is a coffee shop. I did not get to go into Bert's, and Melville's had more of a "Lounge" feel, but Teuchter's was a real gem. The pub, it's food, and it's selection of whiskys served our needs very well. If you like whisky, try "the hoop of destiny" to get a high-end whisky for a cheap price. They also have a nice selection of "cask conditioned" beers, which is something rare in the U.S. They also have a restaraunt downstairs that has a delicious looking menu, but we didn't make the time to visit it.
There is also one of Edinburgh's Grand Churches just around the corner, and if you go past it there is a small grocery store and another coffee shop; all within 2 or 3 blocks.
If you rent a car, there is parking within a block that is free from 6:30 pm to 8:00 - otherwise it is park, pay, and display. There is a public lot nearby, but I never used it. Andy can give you directions.
From the snug we walked to Edinburgh Castle, all along Princes Street, the Royal Mile, Hollyrood Park and up to Arthur's Seat (bit of a hike), and quite a few other places.
There is only one bathroom, but it is very nice and has a heated floor and towel rack.
There are two comfortable bedrooms, that can have 2 single beds, or one combined bed, and there is a seperate "parlor" with a door that has a hide-a-bed.
The wifi works fine.
You will need to climb two flights of stairs.
I would definitely stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, and in a great location.
Liked least: some of the stairs going up to the snug were well worn.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star accommodation and wonderful location”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 4 days at at William Street Snug and feel so lucky to have found such a hidden gem. Andy was just fabulous before we even got there answering all questions and sending us great places to eat and drink. The Snug has been furnished and equipped to a very high standard and was spotless. On arrival there was a welcome pack of bread,butter milk, tea etc but you don't have to worry just round the corner is a Sainsbury and a Coop. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all had good nights sleep whilst there. You are within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, the castle, grass market area and both train stations . We definitely would go back to the snug and hope to do so next year, as staying at the snug made our visit to Edinburgh perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of snug and location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria E
1 review
“Great apartment in ideal location”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely apartment about 20 minute walk from station. Easy to find and the facilites provided by owner were excellent. The bread and flowers on arrival were a nice touch.The cleanliness was second to none. Could find no fault and would happily recommend to anyone that asks. I travelled with partner and teenage children and we all thought the same. Went to Zoo which was just a 5 min walk to bus stop and also the Castle which is also within easy walking distance. Good location for all shops and restaurants. Looking forward to return trip in few years as Edinburgh has so much to offer and hopefully can stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail in decor and facilities
Liked least: Entrance to property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrettonTi...
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class Accomodation - First Class Location”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Spent 3 nights in the William St Snug with wife, daughter and grandchildren. The location is great, lots of places to eat and drink within a 5 minute walk. The main east west axis bus and tram routes were just around the corner and the flat is within easy walking distance of both the Waverley and Haymarket stations.
Excellent accommodation, very well appointed, wanted for nothing. Will undoubtedly go back again

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirbs1
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Cracking apartment and top service from Andy. As soon as booking was made received lots of info from Andy. The apartment is superbly furnished with a modern/traditional feel. Within a matter of hours it felt like home. Very well appointed rooms and everything has been thought of to make the stay memorable. Kids enjoyed the board games, Mum enjoyed a wonderful soak in the bath and Dad enjoyed walking to 10 yards across the road the the pub for a drink! Don't be put off by the fact that there are pubs close by, these are high end pubs serving good food and there is absolutely no noise from them. location location location!!!!

The apartment is in walking distance of all the main sights of Edinburgh but if you fancy running home in a taxi it costs about £6 from the centre so perfect for comi home.

We also made use of the wood burner which gives the lounge a lovely feel. the Welcome pack including fresh bread was a lovely touch.

Cannot fault this place at all. Wonderful stay and great, helpful host. There is only one place we will stay when we return to Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing