We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy, buttery, shortbread”

Pinnies & Poppy Seeds
Ranked #20 of 449 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Artisan Shortbread - handmade traditional shortbread baked fresh in our shop every day! Also selling gifts and other sweet treats from local makers and producers.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 15 September 2017

heard about this place on TV in the US, had to try it, shortbread was great, wish they sold tins so we could have chosen a variety of shortbread to take back as souvenirs

1  Thank buffdog37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Owner at Pinnies & Poppy Seeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi there!
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review - and thank you for visiting our shop after seeing us on TV! We're actually working on getting some sturdier packing, like tins, to ship and to sell in the shop just now so hopefully we'll get that all sorted soon. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"delicious shortbread"
in 12 reviews
"royal mile"
in 16 reviews
"buttery goodness"
in 2 reviews
"bought several"
in 2 reviews
"short bread"
in 2 reviews
"trip to scotland"
in 2 reviews
"visiting edinburgh"
in 2 reviews
"old town"
in 3 reviews
"panties"
in 24 reviews
"shop"
in 49 reviews
"gifts"
in 7 reviews
"artisan"
in 2 reviews
"souvenir"
in 2 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely, little shop that looks like somebody's home kitchen. The reason to come here is shortbread, and that is reason enough. The freshly baked shortbread is amazing and available in five flavours at a time.
The ladies at the shop are super friendly and don't pressure you to buy. The wonderful smell of butter and sweet heaven is more than enough to make you want buy all the flavours.
Give in to temptation, it's so worth it!!

Thank ManWai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Owner at Pinnies & Poppy Seeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi there!
Many, many thanks for your lovely review! You're right, we spend so much time here it almost IS our home kitchen!! So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our shortbread, we would love to welcome you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I had the best Scottish shortbread from this bakery! It was the most delicious out of any I tasted during my trip to Scotland. Don't miss a chance to stop by!

Thank MuscratTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Owner at Pinnies & Poppy Seeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks a million!! What a lovely review! We work super hard to make the best product we can - and I'm so happy to hear that you agree! Thanks for helping spread the good (buttery!) word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Stopped off there to get shortbread cookies after seeing a TV segment on this spot in the USA. Well, it was unreal!!! Best cookies ever and the owner was more that willing to chat about the filming. The cookies were so awesome I went back the day we leaving to bring some home for my workmates. This is a must do!!

Thank coachee1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Owner at Pinnies & Poppy Seeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Wow, thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review! And thank you for visiting us after seeing the show too - we're so grateful to have had that opportunity. I hope everyone enjoyed the shortbread as much as you and hope to welcome you back to the shop soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

As soon as the door opened the smell of vanilla, butter and all things good hit. I bought lavender and white chocolate and some butter shortbread which tastes AMAZING; nothing at all like the shortbread sold in tins up and down the royal mile. The staff were lovely .
Definitely recommend popping into Pinnies & Poppy seeds to anyone. Brilliant gem of a shop hidden just off the Royal Mile.

Thank Faodail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Owner at Pinnies & Poppy Seeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank so much!! Summer here in the shop is pretty crazy so I'm really pleased to hear you had a great experience in Edinburgh as well as visiting our shop! We really appreciate the kind words and taking time out to leave your thoughts for other visitors. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinnies & Poppy Seeds also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Pinnies & Poppy Seeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing