We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Near everything, friendly management, quaint...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 16A TRON SQUARE

Living Room and Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and Kitchen
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Living Room and Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room with cosy sofa bed
Dining Table in the Living Room
Dining Table in the Living Room
Living Room with flat screen TV
Contemporary and well-stocked kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Modern shower room
Modern shower room
Edinburgh Castle from Princes Street
Edinburgh Riding of the Marches along the Royal Mile
Fireworks over the Castle
Edinburgh Military Tattoo ... the castle is 5 minutes from the apartment
Street performers are 30 seconds from the apartment
Old Assembly Close ...located next to Fringe office on Royal Mile ... leads to Tron Square!
16A Tron Square ... peaceful accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town
16A Tron Square entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alex S
1 review
“Near everything, friendly management, quaint historic square”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Highly recommend this convenient, livable apartment off the Royal Mile in Edinburgh. This puts you near some of the more historic pubs in the Royal Mile and Grassmarket, and it's maintained neatly, but with a hip, modern aesthetic. 10/10 would rent again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location's convenience to basically everything in Edinburgh.
Liked least: A little tricky to locate the first time around, but that's due to that first day in new city disorientation.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for leaving a review and highly recommending us! Our guests seem to agree the location is ideal with everything literally on the doorstep. We work hard to ensure our guests have all the comforts of a home away from home, whilst offering good value for money. The apartment was upgraded this year (2015) and we are therefore delighted you enjoyed your stay. It goes without saying we would love to welcome you back again if you decide to return to Edinburgh! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Lack of recycling facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review! It is always a striking contrast to leave the busy Royal Mile after sightseeing all day and in less than a minute be through the front door and in complete peace and quiet with the kettle on for a reviving cup of tea! 16A Tron Square is hidden away in a peaceful south facing courtyard which can feel very sleepy and not at all in the heart of the city. We are pleased you had a good time staying in the apartment, and for recommending us. Thank you for feedback regarding recycling …we can advise that if guests leave cardboard separately bagged we will recycle this for you. Many thanks, once again for leaving a review, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MargaretW...
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just off the Royal Mile so close to everything.
Really nice flat with everything you need and very clean
Quiet square outside the door

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay! We are so pleased you had a good time in Edinburgh. It is such a busy city that it is good to come back to a peaceful location. Thank you so much for recommending us. We would be happy to welcome you back if you return to Edinburgh on another occasion. Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erna p
Middelburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect flat to stay!”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I are in our fifties and stayed in this apartmrnt for 3 days. What made it such a perfect place to stay was that it had a washing machine we used after travelling for a week, we had wi-fi which was used to keep in touch with his business but more than that, only 41 steps up and we were ion the Royal mile! You can't get closer than that!

I would recommend taking a taxi from the bus station to the apartment if you have luggage because although it is close to the station, it is uphill but it took us 10 minutes downhill back to the station when we left! I would book this spacious apartment anytime again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for leaving a review. We aim to cater to our guests’ needs and many have been travelling for a while before staying at the apartment … so we are pleased the washing machine was useful! You are the first guests to actually count the distance from the Royal Mile – I knew it was close but 41 steps is closer than even I thought! Yes, walking to and from the station is steep so a taxi is a good idea if you have a lot of luggage. We would be delighted to welcome you back any time in the future! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowbank7...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy hideaway close to shopping and eateries.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This cozy apartment was a perfect place for us to stay as we celebrated our 41st anniversary. We didn't spend much time actually in the apartment as we enjoyed walking every day for 4-6 hours. The apartment is conveniently located to be able to shop, eat, sight-see, catch a bus, and anything else. It was wonderful to come back to the comfortable place and a wonderful shower. We chuckled that it took us until Thursday to find the welcome packet; as it was hidden in a trunk. It might be helpful if there were a few board/table games in order to have something to do other than watch tv when it's raining too hard to be outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: shower
Liked least: minimal information,in welcome parcket(that was in a trunk) on nearby establishments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for leaving a review and I am so pleased you celebrated your anniversary in the apartment. It sounds as though you have had some very full days exploring the city …walking for 4-6 hours each day – you must be very fit! But there is so much to see and do in Edinburgh and each area of the city has something to offer! Sorry about the Welcome Pack, … it used to be stored under a coffee table, together with all the tourist leaflets, but thought that the ‘Harry Potter’ trunk would tidy them away a little! Thank you for the great idea of wet weather games … I will definitely get some … and store them in the trunk too! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing