We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service”

Makars Gourmet Mash Bar
Ranked #1 of 2 452 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: The Makars Gourmet Mash Bar has been described as an Edinburgh "legend" , "culinary hero" & “local gem”! All we know is that customers rave about how good our food is and come back year after year and invite their friends. Makars Mash offers heart-warming Scottish local food. Pick your main meal from our range of meaty and plant based treats and then choose one of our 9 mashed potato options to create delicious pairings. Conveniently located on the Mound in the heart of the city, the Makars Mash offers a cosy atmosphere, great views, great service & delicious heart-warming local food. Winner of UK TripAdvisor restaurant 2018,19 & 20. The Makars Mash Bar is one of Edinburgh’s last independent family business and aims to work with local suppliers whenever possible.
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We decided to book Makars as I had read other great reviews. Just a short walk up the hill from the National Gallery so it’s easy to find. Lunch time was popular but there was still some social distancing between tables. Delicious food - I had “Highland Coo” sausages with bacon and chive mash and my other half went for the Haggis. Sadly didn’t have space for a dessert but they looked good. Excellent friendly service from Emily. We will book again next time we are in Edinburgh.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Georgina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha, Agence/Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Makars ! Hopefully we’ll see you soon for puddings ..!
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (5 679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 5 683 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We came here all the way from south England based on recommendation and it did not disappoint! The meal was absolutely fantastic and the service was top notch also! The wild boar sausages were to die for! I intend to make a trip here whenever I am in Edinburgh!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank LeePetrieEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha, Agence/Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hahaha the title is amazing. So glad to hear you enjoyed your Makars experience so much. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again and again and again !
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We found this place by accident! The food was absolutely amazing and will be recommending to anyone going to Edinburgh. 5 stars. X

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Jet30963298005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha, Agence/Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

And what a happy accident that was by the sound of it. Really glad to hear that. Thank you !
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Absolutely delicious food, friendly service and a good ambiance! 100% recommended, a try if you're in the area! My only grumble would be not having enough tummy capacity to fit more in!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha, Agence/Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The holy trinity, staff, food and atmosphere. Very glad to read you enjoyed all three. Thank you for your review !
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Amazing food, staff and service. If you can only have one meal in Edinburgh it has to be here. A little bit pricey for bangers and mash but then you are in the centre of Edinburgh and it is definitely worth the money! I’ve tried similarly priced places that definitely aren’t as good. 100% would recommend

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank Elle1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha, Agence/Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The cliché would be that “quality has a price” but we do work with local producers, pay our staff fairly and have city centre rent to pay. We do our best to make sure it’s worth every penny for our guests though so I’m glad to hear you had such a good time !
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makars Gourmet Mash Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Makars Gourmet Mash Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.