We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
516
229
93
40
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
229
93
40
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george street atlantis room sunken bath cairo suite dirty martini shanghai club nightclub downstairs boutique hotel junior suite on arrival breakfast in bed mood lighting fabulous hotel fantastic stay bars and restaurants the heart of the city lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed one night in a quiet room called Dublin.
It's stylish with a rooftop view out of the window. Comfortable bed, linen and pillows.
I called to request some more milk pots for making tea, and the receptionist brought fresh milk instead which was a nice touch.
The highlight was dinner in the restaurant - excellent food (piping hot soup and good main course) served by a super friendly waiter - recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hi Julie,
Many thanks for leaving such a glowing review! It is always nice to hear our guests have had an enjoyable experience and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed out Dublin room.
We will be very pleased to welcome you back soon!
Thanks again,
Yasmin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here and found the hotel very charming and comfortable. The staff were always available and accommodating. We did not do the inclusive breakfast but chose to pop round to Hanover St to the Pret a Manger for something quick. The one morning we did eat at the hotel, the food was very nice. We were on the 3rd floor and well away from any noise from the club. We found the Moscow room very comfortable. Lights were a bit tricky at first but we figured it out. Would definitely stay here again as the airport tram drops off two blocks away and city bus stop is across the street. We really enjoyed our time here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julieb312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi Julie,

It is wonderful to receive and read your feedback and comments. It was pleasure having you stay with us.
Naturally, we would wish to welcome you back again soon, please do not hesitate to get in touch directly.

Thanks,
Yasmin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed in the Los Angeles room - talk about the wow factor!!
I'd visited the bar next door on a recent trip to suss it out after reading some ropey reviews based on the noise. The bar didn't seem like our scene and the music was terrible, so I was expecting the worst, but still hoping we'd be fine.

And when we were told we'd be in the LA room, we couldn't wait to get in and check it out.
It's total rock n roll. The bath is brilliant - you can spend forever in there. In fact, we nearly fell asleep in it as we didn't want to get out. The only downside - the shower curtains are from Primark... WTF? Looking up when in the bath, the labels on the shower curtains are unmissable and it did take the shine off the experience. They didn't even fit properly - but it just made us wonder what else was Primani. I mean, £200 a night, you do expect a bit more. Even if you furnish and accessorise from there - just cut the labels off and no one will know!! Another slight negative is that the leather settee and pouffe are past their best - we could see past that as the rest of the suite made up for it.
We ordered breakfast to the room after a late night out. Ordered it for 9.45am (breakfast finishes at 10am and they couldn't do it too close to 10) and they were on time to the second!
I've been visiting Edinburgh for years and this has been the best hotel in the city centre that I've stayed in. Bearing in mind, we didn't go to the restaurant or see that much of the place other than the room, it was faultless. Again, the other rooms may be prone to noise issues from next door but we didn't hear a thing. Well worth it for the bath alone!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your great review and feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our LA suite and that we managed to exceed your expectations. It would be lovely to welcome you back again in the future to experience some more of our beautiful rooms.

Thanks,
Yasmin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

My wife and I have visited Edinburgh many times and decided to do so again to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. My wife researched hotels for our stay and selected Le Monde - what a great choice. We stayed for 2 nights in the Atlantis Room. Comfy bed, double bath and themed in keeping with the room name including a fish tank. The hotel has great facilities with a lounge area, cocktail bar and nightclub - all stylish and high quality. But the highlight was the excellent staff. I had a back problem while staying and the receptionists and duty manager could not have been more attentive and sympathetic.

Room Tip: Atlantis was excellent but it was the only one we saw
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyWB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi Andy,

Thank you for your review.

I was a pleasure having you stay with us for your anniversary!
I hope your back pain is better now and we can not wait to welcome you back to Le Monde again soon!

Thanks again,
Yasmin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Just arrived from a terrific two night stay at La Monde. Stayed in the lovely Los Angeles room - very spacious and modern with a king size comfy bed, large bath with integrated TV, leather sofa, good lighting, large TV and bath robes/slippers! The hotel bars were very relaxing and the staff very attentive. The service was great and nothing was too much of a problem. Had complimentary champagne and chocolate coated strawberries as it was our anniversary - a nice touch.

We ate at the hotel twice - once for breakfast and once early evening. The breakfast was £12.50 pp but this included a very generous helping of coffee/toast and was very hearty and filling including both black pudding and haggis in addition to the usual items. The early evening meal was a steak (fillet) and chips (twice cooked) meal with a glass of wine for two charged at £30 and was great value - the peppercorn sauce was to die for!

There was a good vibe in the hotel and it is classy. We asked for a quieter room as the Shanghai club (free entry for hotel guests) does get busy and have heard reports about noise before we booked. The hotel is situated in a good location on George Street, close to the shops and only a brisk 12 minute walk to the Castle / Grassmarket area and similar distance to the Playhouse.

We would book again. The receptionist gave us a 10% discount card for next time!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel in advance and ask for a quieter room, such as the Los Angeles room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bazkazboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Barry,
Thank you for your review.
We are so glad we made your anniversary at Le Monde as special as you imagined it would be! We pride ourselves in our customer service, so it is great to hear such lovely feedback about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to experience another one of our beautiful rooms! Phone us directly on 0131 270 3900 to receive your 10% discount.
Thanks again,
Yasmin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews