We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braveheart’s Revenge ”

The Edinburgh Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18,95*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Ranked #9 of 95 Museums in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Edinburgh Dungeon is the scariest, funniest journey through Edinburgh's darkest history; a unique, award-winning visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, 360 degree sets and 2 thrilling rides in a truly unique and exciting walk-through experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is a must see attraction in Edinburgh, entertaining is an understatement. The new Braveheart’s Revenge is both brilliant and terrifying with a chance to meet William Wallace in the flesh. If I could give it ten stars I would!

Thank Geoff06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks Geoff06 - 5* - Wallace WILL be pleased! So glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5 052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 418 reviews
"great fun"
in 414 reviews
"sawney bean"
in 106 reviews
"drop ride at the end"
in 65 reviews
"scary fun"
in 60 reviews
"their roles"
in 61 reviews
"audience participation"
in 106 reviews
"special effects"
in 60 reviews
"burke and hare"
in 54 reviews
"great attraction"
in 53 reviews
"rainy day"
in 63 reviews
"scottish history"
in 67 reviews
"scares"
in 163 reviews
"characters"
in 221 reviews
"campy"
in 110 reviews
"parts"
in 257 reviews
"fright"
in 68 reviews
Filter

199 - 203 of 5 052 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Visited with husband and daughter (22). Very different to what i expected. Very funny, right amount of scare and fantastic cast who absolutely make the experience. Laughed til i cried when i wasnt screaming or jumping. Very good value for money. Highly recommend.

1  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks Bev,

Laughing, screaming, jumping! Our mission accomplished! Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Quite simply superb - You have to visit this if you are in Edinburgh - We had low expectations when we visited but it surpassed them and surpassed them some more!

We expected to just wander around looking at displays and visuals but it was anything but - It's a 1hr 20m 'adventure' where you get told the history of crime in Edinburgh all acted about by live costumed characters who very very good at what they did - We felt everyone put their heart and soul into the attraction and made the tour as good as it was - Some of the characters are proper scary too and they regularly suddenly appear in front of your face in the dark and the masks/faces they use are fantastic (they don't ever touch you).

I can't remember the order we did things but each 'room' had several costumed characters in and they lead you through the tour in a truly amazing manner. The first 'room' you go in is a judge trying you for various offences and if you are selected you have to go to the dock to be tried - Very funny!

We booked online and got a cheaper Sunday morning slot - Indeed i'd recommend going early morning whilst it is quiet - You go around in groups (maximum 32 allowed) but the group size we went in of 8 was PERFECT and everybody interacted/bonded - Don't get yourself in a large group more than 10 or you won't enjoy it as much! We got there early but no problems going in early.

The two rides you go on are good - The boat ride (duck as you go around or creepy things touch your head from above) and then the ride at the end where you are lifted up and dropped a massive height with no notice - The latter has your photograph taken like they do at Alton Towers so try not to look too scared! You also have your photo taken twice before you go in and at the end of the tour you can buy keyrings, magnets etc with them on,

Special thanks to Rhiannon in the gift shop for being so engaging and talkative to us afterwards - Every staff member we came across was polite, friendly and engaging.

This is a BOX OFFICE attraction and you have to go - Cant recommend it enough - Based on the corner of Market Street near the station, you will absolutely love this!

Thank siramisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Wow, siramisp - what a fab review! Now you've given us ideas above our station! Next, Dungeon - the MOVIE! We're so glad you were thrilled to pieces - not literally pieces, although the cannibals probably had a good go... Do come again now we have launched our new show Braveheart's Revenge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Loved the Edinburgh dungeons!
They were in a great central location, no queuing when we went and walked straight in, great tour which was totally hilarious!
Loved the drop ride element, which could of been opted out if chosen.
Great way to spend a couple of hours and learn about the history of Edinburgh and surrounding areas

Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi Ellie B, what a fab review thanks! You've made us feel all warm and fuzzy inside, although that might just be the plague...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

After hearing that the Edinburgh Dungeon is the scariest of them all, it did not disappoint. The staff who guided you around the tour were fab, really interactive with the group & full of witty jokes. My partner was picked out of the group on three occasions where he took part in the stories they were telling, much to my amusement. I can’t really say too much without ruining the surprises of the tour, but it was lots of fun & very scary!

Thank ellboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi Ellboyd, glad we provided a good time and lots of picking on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing