We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Edinburgh Marathon 2014”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Marathon 2014”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The accommodation was lovely however the outside and lobby area could do with some updating. The apartment was very well laid out with all amenities however the third of the 3 double rooms was very small with no room to move. There is a tremendous amount of space in the main master bedroom and the second double room so not sure why they third room was so small. It looked like it was a single room with two single beds crammed it.

As we wanted to stay central we did not realise how disruptive the noise from the street could be when trying to sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location
Liked least: noise from street
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Penthouse @ The Royal Mile. We were delighted to read that you liked the apartment and I would like to let you know that the factors of the building have recently begun some improvements which should bring it up to the high standard we are looking for.

Although the third bedroom is smaller than the master bedroom, we believe it to be a good option for groups of 6 staying with us and also gives the option for either a king or twin room which is perfect for families with kids.

As the apartment is on the top floor of the building, we find it to be very peaceful, even during the busy Festival period. However, the Royal Mile is one of the busiest streets in the city so with the windows open, you are able to hear passers by.

Thank you once again,

The Edinburgh Address
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starburd
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and style and size apartment, expensive to rent though.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The apt is spacious very tastefully decorated and has all the facilities inside you would hope for. Also warm with good heating. The down sides for me were no blackout blinds in 2 of the rooms (not great for young children!). Master bedroom great but bed rather small. Also very noisy at night, pub revellers, sirens and recyling bins being emptied during the night, also lift in building noisy in the apartment itself. I don't think this apt is ideal for young children but it is lovely inside and well located if you don't want to drive to the sights.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QSSQ
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Place, you won't regret it!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

It was a fantastic place to stay, the interior of the apartment was all brand new and modern, very comfortable and pleasant which made us not want to leave the apartment! The location of the apartment is absolutely superb!!! 5 mins walk to the Main train station, 5 mins to Edinburgh castle, the national museum, etc. The staff were very nice to talk to and helpful! could not recommend more about it. We were very pleased!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Penthouse @ The Royal Mile. We are delighted with your feedback and it sounds like you managed to see lots while you were here! We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing