We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 134)
Filter reviews
1 134 results
Traveller rating
808
273
40
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
273
40
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarthur's seatcity centresalisbury armsquiet residential streetholyrood parkminute bus rideroyal milesmall hotelgreat hoststriple roombreakfast was includedfrequent busesfriendly hotelgreat showerquiet areastreet parkinghot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 1 134 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The last stat on our roadtrip in Scotland. Very recommendable hotel, perfecttly located near all attractions. Nice to be able to choose breakfast. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Nice and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Perfecttly location
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gitte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Just a few blocks from the Royal Mile, with Arthur's Seat behind. Quiet, friendly, and the best food for miles around. Struan is a four star chef, and people would come from other places to try and get seating. But if you stay here, you're automatically in!

Room Tip: Stay towards the back.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Comfortable B and B. Excellent cooked breakfast with choice of cereal, fruit and yogurt. Clean, comfortable rooms. Just within walking distance to centre of town (we did it twice!) but close to direct bus route.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in mid-June. It is located in a lovely quiet neighborhood a few blocks off the busy streets. Our room was on the 3rd floor, with openable windows providing great views of King Arthur’s Seat. The stairway was quite steep, which I imagine could be problem for some, especially with luggage, although we managed the ascent well. When we arrived, Thomas provided a useful map and a quick orientation to the hotel location relative to various attractions (such as the Castle and the Royal Mile). We quickly figured out the bus routes and the street layout (Thomas’ map and instructions were very helpful), and the hotel location provided a great center for our explorations of the city. Thomas was also helpful with advice and other concerns—for instance, exchanging our Scottish pounds for British when we headed out of Scotland before check-out. The room itself was very comfortable, with free WiFi. The hotel staff members were very friendly and helpful. A couple suggestions. If you need relative darkness for sound sleep, consider bringing your sleeping shades, since the curtains in our room blocked very little light. Also, breakfast is very good, prepared and served to order by friendly and warm staff, but in a room that, with re-decorating and re-painting (something other than black and red), could actually be very pleasant (just a suggestion for management). Overall, however, we really liked this hotel. It was a very good base from which to explore Edinburgh. We’re glad we stayed there and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank California86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We had front room good size ensuite good clean and quiet for us it was just a bit too far from city centre this was booked for us so we had no idea where it was until we started looking for it following our gps breakfast very good
Transport near by or walking which we did first day guests herd mixed families couples or singles
All in all of bad stay

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Isabell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews