We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment, wonderful host”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Master bedroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Living Room
Master bedroom
Living Room
Apartment is 500 metres from the Castle
Living Room
Living room with Flat screen TV and DVD palyer
Living Room
Second bedroom with one double bed and baby's cot if required.
Living Room
Writing desk in hall
Living Room
Kitchen, dishes  - gas hob, electric oven, dish washer, washing machine/dryer
Dining Room
Hallway with cupboard for outdoor clothes and shoes etc
Dining Room
Ensuite shower room in Master Bedroom with toilet and wash basin and bidet.
Dining Room
Separate reading area off Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Second bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom with bath and shower over bath and toilet and wash basin.
Kitchen
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Double Bedroom
Kitchen
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Bathroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Bathroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Bathroom
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Bathroom
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
The Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Bathroom
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
The Building
The Building
The Building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn R
Miramichi, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, wonderful host”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A friend and I stayed in this lovely apartment for four nights in September. It was spacious, comfortable, beautifully appointed, very clean and extremely well located. The bed linens are high quality and the beds very comfortable. Hot water was readily available with excellent water pressure. The apartment is quiet and is on the first floor which, in Scotland, means it is up a flight of stairs. However, the stairs are wide and the steps are not steep.

Although the kitchen was well equipped, we had the majority of our meals at nearby restaurants. We found Thai, French and Italian restaurants right on Thistle St. There are several pubs nearby as well. From this apartment, it was a comfortable walk to shopping and sightseeing. We really enjoyed being able to explore Edinburgh and walk back "home".

I have to mention Robert, the host. He met us on arrival (we were late due to a bit of taxi chaos at the airport). He was pleasant and welcoming. He gave us clear instructions and answered any questions we had and told us to contact him if any issues arose. I did contact him the next day about how to operate something and he replied within minutes. However, it was after we moved out of the apartment that he really saved the day for us. On arrival at the train station I discovered I had forgotten my purse with all my money and documents at the apartment. We called him and he not only went back and found the purse but hurriedly delivered it to us at the train station. We made our train to Bath with Robert to thank! Outstanding attention and kindness are a rarity and we found it on Thistle St in Edinburgh. I would give this apartment and host my highest recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. It was beyond our expectations.
Liked least: No cons.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaynemegS...
Newberry
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice stay in New Town”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our time in Edinburgh and our stay at the Thistle Street apartment. The apartment is very spacious and well-situated in New Town. We enjoyed coming back to the apartment each day and being able to relax. We did not do much cooking, other than some porridge, but the kitchen was adequate for that purpose. Our only complaint would be issues with the water temperature. I don't know that we ever got that worked out during our stay which meant either a very hot or very cold shower. If that were worked out, we would definitely love to stay again. Thanks to Robert for his hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious layout of the apartment
Liked least: Trying to regulate the water temperature
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterGirl...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific Edinburgh visit in the heart of the City.”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with another couple at the Thistle Street apartment. Robert was very helpful and the apartment was perfect - location, furnishings, amenities and comfort. Was easy walking distance, even with large suitcases, from Waverly. Visited three restaurants on the block and all were outstanding. Will plan to stay here again when we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ability to catch up on my laundry after 2 weeks of travel prior to this visit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshuah
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another great stay in Thistle Street”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to Thistle street again this year and it was as good as ever. If you have never been before look no further. I've stayed in 7 apts in Edinburgh and this is by far the best. We stayed 4 nights at end march beginning of April and with exception of Baltic weather we had an amazing time. The apt is gorgeous, well stocked, very clean and modern and on a very central and funky street lined with great restaurants and bars. We'd recommend Bon vivant for cocktails , dusit thai, queens arms for great friendly bar food and drinks, thistle bar for small cosy bar and coffee shop next to eateket for brekky. Communication with Robert was easy and he was there to greet us. One thing to remember is to get shown the lever on boiler for hot water... We forgot! When we found out it was fine. Otherwise you are near everything and we will definitely return. Olivia Dublin

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayMa...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, spacious apartment in very central location”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the apartment and the location.

Plenty of room for 2 couples and one room having the en suite was ideal.

Selection of good restaurants on doorstep and only minutes to George Street or Princes Street.

Owner was very helpful and responded promptly to communications.

Hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;