We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunny holiday house Edinburgh”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Entrance
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
The Building
Grounds
Grounds
Grounds
Grounds
Grounds
Street
Street
Outside view of our sunny garden house
Side view
Access from the street
Side view of the house from the gate
Main bedroom
Living room
Bedroom
Living room
Living room
The hosts
Edinburgh Zoo, 10 min walk from our house
Edinburgh Zoo, 10 min walk from our house
The Royal Botanic garden in Edinburgh, nice to visit all year round.  Free entry.
Side view of our sunny garden house
The Royal Botanic garden in Edinburgh, nice to visit all year round.  Free entry.
The Royal Botanic garden in Edinburgh, nice to visit all year round.  Free entry.
The Royal Botanic garden in Edinburgh, nice to visit all year round.  Free entry.
The Royal Botanic garden in Edinburgh, nice to visit all year round.  Free entry.
Winter on Corstorphine Hill, close to our house
Winter on Corstorphine Hill, close to our house
In the walled garden on Corstorphine Hill.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John M
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunny holiday house Edinburgh”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location, close to public transportation and shopping for food staples.
Great choices for eating out.
Manager is very helpful & friendly.
Home is great for a short or extended stay with the requirements of home.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is appreciated.
Glad you arrived safely home .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniruddha...
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very practical choice”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights and had one of the most memorable experience!
Key points in my view are:
- Very practical choice for kids and elders alike. I stayed with my 5 yr old kid and my parents 72 and 68 yrs old. Both were very comfortable during entire stay.
- Highly accessible yet quiet location. Bus transport, Grocery supplies, restaurants, pubs and Edinburgh zoo- all are at walkable distance!
- Fully equipped. Kitchen facilities, Reading material, Site seeing information, Wi-fi, Indoor games that kids and grown ups will equally enjoy, Small outside lawn, free parking, Ground floor. Every thing you need is available in this small, cozy cottage.
- Welcoming, approachable and helpful hosts. Fiona thoughtfully kept milk available for my kid before our arrival*. Olafur provided additional information on Falkirk attractions. Appreciate spot-on hospitality.

Overall, I found our stay here very satisfactory, comfortable and enjoyable. It served as real home during our Scotland drive trip.

Thank you very much Fiona and Olafur for great experience!

[* Milk availability was more of an exception and not part of standard service. Fiona thought my kid to be 5 months old instead of 5 yrs old because of minor miscommunication( on better side). Definitely appreciate Fiona for her thoughtful and caring gesture]

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quietness, facilities
Liked least: Toilet block is rather small. Hot water supply to shower could be improved.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
Sorry for delay, but we had a bereavement in the family.
Thank you for staying with us, being so considerate to both the cottage and the surroundings.
I appreciated the spotless way you all left the cottage.
But most of all the lovely drawings made us smile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withacee
1 review
“Perfect base for a visit to Edinburgh”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a lovely place this is; a very comfortable little detached house in a quiet neighbourhood.
Buses into town and to the airport at a few minutes walk.
The host was very friendly and helpful, and reacted very promptly during the booking process.
All-in-all, for us it was the perfect base for a brilliant week's holiday.
And the Bay City Rollers, now that brought back memories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dead quiet, with comfortable seating and beds
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning, really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your adventure in my home city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona79
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

As an Edinburgh native heading home for a family Christmas we needed our own space and the feeling of a real holiday. Our sunny holiday house provided the perfect spot. We felt instantly at home. Fiona was incredible achieving the perfect balance of privacy, friendliness and amazing service.

The house was perfect for us. A proper lounge area, so we were not just sitting on our bed in the evening as we would have done in a hotel or staying with relatives. A whole lounge to spread out in, a fully equipped kitchen and two wardrobes for the weeks worth of winter clothes and shopping!

The location is excellent too with great parking so you are not far from anywhere with the bypass only a short drive away. Fantastic for pubic transport too and even in mid-winter the walking near by was incredible - the hill and the water of leith.

More than anything it was the little touches like having the heating on for our return from a night away at a wedding that really made this the best stay. We cannot thank you enough Fiona and sorry it's taken us so long to let you know how much we loved the stay. All I can say is it took us so long to settle back in here in Sydney after such an amazing break in our wonderful Corstorphine home. We can't wait for a summer stay one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As comfortable as home
Liked least: We didn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you for staying with us and your kind words . Due to some malfunction in the system I only found the review today ! Hope life has been treating you well
Regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmonteir...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little holiday home in great location”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed here with my husband, parents and 2-year-old daughter in November. Fiona was lovely; hospitable and full of useful information. The house had everything we needed, and plenty of room, even for 5 of us. We particularly enjoyed the location; close to the shops and bus stop, and 10 minutes into Edinburgh city centre, but quiet and peaceful. Being so close to the zoo was also a bonus for my daughter who thoroughly enjoyed seeing the pandas and meerkats!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Thank you for your kind review, hope the journeys home were uneventful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing