We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location, wonderful view.”
other travellers have booked this property
Edinburgh Castle - as seen from the sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Edinburgh Castle - as seen from the sitting room
View of Edinburgh Castle and hill as seen from inside the apartment, through sitting room windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Edinburgh Castle - as seen from the sitting room
View of Edinburgh Castle and hill as seen from inside the apartment, through sitting room windows.
Sitting Room with Dining Table
Sitting Room
King size bed in the master bedroom
The bedroom with king size bed.
Built in wardrobe in the bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
We have a comprehensive set of guide books.
Green Star shows proximity to Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Grassmarket, Princes Street Gardens
Edinburgh Farmers' Market is on your doorstep
External view of the Building with statue of Queen Victoria
Statue of Queen Victoria on the Roof
Castle Terrace Michelin restaurant is next door.
View of the fireworks from the apartment.
Edinburgh Castle Hill as seen from the Sitting Room windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Susan R
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful location, wonderful view.”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This flat is in a wonderful location in Edinburgh. Opening the curtains each morning to a stunning view of Edinburgh castle was a delight. We visited the castle, Holyroodhouse, the royal yacht Britannia, Scottish National Portrait Gallery, Scottish National Trusts' Georgian House and Gladstone's Land, Greyfriars Bobby statue and kirkyard, Scottish Parliament building, Canongate cemetery, Grassmarket and many more places of interest. The bus stop for a couple of the hop on/off buses is just over the road from the flat so very convenient if you have tickets. There are local supermarkets and shops and cinemas and theatres a five minute walk away. We ate one night at Il Castello which is almost next door to the flats and had a wonderful meal with super service. The flat itself is well equipped and very clean with a very comfortable bed in the quiet bedroom. Kitty, the owner, met us and helped carry my case up to the flat, She gave us information about the location and directions but we soon got our bearings and had a fantastic week in this beautiful city.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Susan, I'm so glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay - you certainly kept yourselves busy! Thank you for your enthusiastic review - I hope to see you back again one day.
All the very best

Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayBirSt
SURREY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Castle view is a small apartment in a grade A listed bldg. The flat is on 3rd floor with a wonderful view of the back of The Castle. The location is superb right in the heart of the City within walking distance to shops, restaurants,bars and historic sites. It is small and comfortabe for 2 only but we'll maintained and furnished

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad the apartment met with your requirements for a visit to Edinburgh. I hope we can welcome you back another time.
With best wishes
Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKent68
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment and Perfect Location”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent five nights at the Castle View Apt. We loved it. Wonderful view of the castle, short walk to the Royal Mile, many restaurant options nearby. Apartment is nicely furnished and kitchen is very well equipped with modern appliances. Clothes washer/dryer worked perfectly. Owner is delightful and met us upon arrival for very helpful orientation. Strong and dependable wifi. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for this kind review and my apologies for the delay in replying. I look forward to welcoming you back to Castle Terrace.
Very best wishes
Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyH_U...
Durham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable flat in fantastic location”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at Castle View. The flat is clean, bright and well furnished, with a fantastic view up to the Castle Rock out of the window. It's very well located for the back entrance of the Princes Street Gardens and only 10-15 minutes walk from Waverley Station and (around the back of the castle in the other direction) from Princes Street itself. It's enough off the beaten track to be quiet in the evenings. Angus greeted us on arrival, and Kitty was very helpful (even when we inconvenienced her by managing to leave a coat behind at the end of our stay). We'd certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for your positive review. Look forward to welcoming you back! All the best, Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment with a castle view!”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This apartment was perfect for our stay in Edinburgh. With a view of the Edinburgh Castle from the living room window, it was within walking distance to all major sites. There is a great market on Saturdays that we visited for fresh coffee, cheese, sandwiches, and more--steps from the front door. The apartment itself had everything we needed to feel at home: great bathroom with tub/shower, soft towels, full kitchen, washer/dryer, helpful city guides and books, comfortable bed...amazing. Communication with the host was excellent and Kitty was able to recommend some great restaurants and shops for our visit. We will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.