We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice flat in wonderful position”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
mamy2k4
Imola, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice flat in wonderful position”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The flat was very nice, even better than the photo. We were 5 friends and we stayed very welle there, a lot of space, only one bathroom with shower, but there is another toilet with washbasin , very convenient for us.
The beds are very confortable and the apartment is full of character, you feel like at home and you are in the best position for Edinburgh, we reached every interesting point of the city by foot and the night you are near the most fun pub and local.
We had only a little problem: two nights the hot water wasn't working and we could have a shower only the next morning. Anyway, we sent an e-mail to let the property management know it, so I think they will resolve the problem.
But I totally recommend this flat.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you for the very positive review, always good to know the property contributed to a wonderful trip to Edinburgh. We are very sorry you had an issue with the shower. We did indeed respond to the email you sent and system was checked, however nothing obvious was found. it was re-set and no further issues have reported by guests since then. Regards, Glenn Ford, ESC manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sashamd19
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful flat! It was warm, comfortable and had everything that we needed. Bedrooms are large and decorated well. For a 2bed flat, the amount of space made the flat seem enormous for the 3 of us. There was no fighting over the bathroom as there was an additional toilet. Kitchen well stocked.
Excellent location - i lived in Edinburgh whilst at university and wished i could have been that close to everything! 5mins from train station, slightly more to the main bus station. No hassle. Plenty of choice for food, shopping, tourist attractions, or just finding a wee spot to sit and take it all in. Closest supermarket is about 5-10mins walk also.
Drawbacks -noise of the royal mile but this can not be helped and doesn't reflect negatively on the accommodation. There are a lot of stairs but after the initial lugging of suitcases these are a breeze. I would definitely consider staying here again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and big bedrooms
Liked least: The mattress was a little hard but that is just my personal taste
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia...
Isle of Skye
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city centre stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have stayed in Parliament Square previously but this was the first time in No. 5. Our family were in Edinburgh for a special birthday celebration and stayed in four apartments throughout the building. This arrangement worked very well allowing us to be together but also giving us some space. No. 5 is an extremely well equipped, cosy and very comfortable spacious apartment. The kitchen was generously equipped with everything you could need and provided rooftop views across the chimney pots to Arthur Seat, The beds were extremely comfortable with lovely pillows and duvets and the original wooden shutters blocked out the city centre noise from the street below. If you want total quiet you don't stay in the city centre and we didn't find this a problem. The meet and greet arrangement with Dave was very efficient as was all booking communications. The apartment is spotlessly clean and you immediately feel at home so thanks to the owners who have taken the time and effort in making it so

I remember this building as the Central Police HQ so it is quite interesting in being able to stay there. The High Street location is within easy walking distance of the train station and connections for Edinburgh Airport, there are too many pubs and restaurants to mention very close by, and not forgetting the Royal Mile's historical treasures and museums. Plenty things to do and see with a wonderfully relaxing apartment makes this an unmissable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotandsan...
Daytona Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Flat On The Royal Mile!”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this flat based on all the reviews and they were spot on. I booked months in advance and Glenn was on top of everything including all my questions as the date approached. We travel all over the world and stay in hotels most of the time. This trip, we were traveling with our son and daughter in law and this made more sense finacially for us and we wanted the amenities the flat made available.

I won't say to much about the location because it's been mentioned over and over but you can't find a better spot for any of Edinburgh's sites or restaurants. Glenn also gives you a print out of restaurant recommendations that was very useful. We made reservations two weeks before we left and were very glad we did as some of the top rated restaurants were almost booked up except for off times of very early or really late.

We were met by Dave in front of the flat at the planned time and he threw our luggage over his shoulder and bounded up the stairs. Thank you to Dave for that as there are quite a few stairs. He showed us how everything worked and left us some milk, tea, and coffee.

The flat was spotless and had everthing you could want in terms of cooking in (we really didn't) but it's nice if you want to. It is great to have a fridge for soda, waters, etc. The bedrooms are very large and the beds were super comfortable in both rooms. There is one full bath with shower and tub and a half bath with sink and toilet. That really made it easy for us with 4 people getting ready at one time. The wifi worked great and the TV was state of the art. Street noise never bothered us at night. There are some street performers that were fun to watch out of the living room window and the crowd could be loud but this never went on at night so, no problem.

We've been to Edinburgh on several occasions and this trip was one of our favorites and one of the reasons was this flat and the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hot water on timer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick86...
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Flat with High Ceilings in the Center of the Royal Mile”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Although the flat was absolutely lovely, the noise from the Royal Mile could be heard at night. Not too bad, but not ideal. Given the fact that Edinburgh has such great night life, we luckily arrived back at the flat late enough that the street noise did not bother us too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charm of the historic property
Liked least: street noise
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing