We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Spring Carlton Terrace Mews Sunny south facing sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Spring Carlton Terrace Mews
Sunny south facing sitting area
Sunny south facing sitting area
Kitchen/diner
Bedroom1 (kingsize or twin)
Bedroom 2 (kingsize or twin)
Bathroom
Carlton Terrace Mews, quiet city centre living
Carlton Terrace Mews
Period feature in Carlton Terrace Mews
Georgian elegance in nearby Regent Terrace
A light dusting of snow, view from Calton Hill winter 2015
Edinburgh at Christmas
Hogmanay on Calton Hill
Sunrise over Arthur's Seat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
John C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The property is very well situated in a quiet, attractive area but only a short walk from the city centre. It is very clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. The owner was very helpful and communications were clear, prompt and thorough. It was a bonus to have a garage as parking in Edinburgh can be highly problematic for visitors. It is probably best to be aware that the garage is suitable for small-medium sized cars. We would definitely recommend the property and hope to stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your kind review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be very happy to welcome you again, just get in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay, ideal location for access to city centre.”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the Mews cottage comfortable quiet and well equipped. Far enough away from the city to be peaceful, but near enough for quickly being amongst it all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanna23
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A brilliant gem”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We used this as a base during Ryder cup and for general exploring of Edinburgh. It was perfect as we could park the car in the garage and walk everywhere from there. Loads of good places to eat nearby too. We also loved coming back at the end of the day and relaxing in our very generous little house with all the mod cons necessary. It was very affordable and I would definitely recommend this as a comfortable base for anyone wanting to 'do' Edinburgh.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My friend and I absolutely loved staying at Carlton Terrace Mews during a recent trip.
The location was excellent, really close to town, with a short walk to Princes Street and upto the Royal Mile. Perfect for sightseeing.

The accomodation is clean, bright with very comfortable beds (We both slept well!)
The bathroom is big with a bath and a shower over - both with good water pressure.
The kitchen is probably the best equiped self catering kitchen i've ever come across - should i have wanted to prepare a roast or bake a cake - all i could have asked for was available!

An added bonus was a great wifi signal to allow us to upload our photos from the days out and a smart TV which i could log into Netflix on ...... after two very busy days walking the closes and bridges of Edinburgh it was lovely to have all those home comforts available.

Thank you Julie for a lovely well appointed, well equiped property. We are already looking at dates for when we could visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - Very close to twon!
Liked least: Nothing, it was all wonderful
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blop999
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probablyu the best weekend rental ever! (really)”
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

5 minutes from Princess street, 5 mins from decent buses, 2 minute drive into town (you will take longer finding a parking space - but they exist!)
Accommodation was superb - nothing to spoil a great weekend.
Beds are dangerously comfortable (we all slept like logs).
Warm and bright - we didnt try to use the garage though - there was a spot outside we used.
I will rue it but the price was amazing for the location (idyllic 'cul de sac' - from the 1800s!)
I likes me wifi and this was thrown in with decent speed we all used - most amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and isolation - superb
Liked least: Im a nutter on energy saving - needs double glazing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your extremely kind review - I wish we could have double glazing too but being an A listed area its not possible!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing