We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, central, traditional Edinburgh...”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room View From Living Room Window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
158 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
View From Living Room Window
Log Fire (free basket of logs supplied)
Kitchen/Dining Area
Kitchen/Dining Area
Welcome Hamper
Entrance Hallway
Double Bedroom 1
Double Bedroom 2
Bathroom With Shower
Living Room
Log Fire (free basket of logs supplied)
Street Level View
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 158 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hannah_UK...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, central, traditional Edinburgh apartment”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our 5 month old baby stayed here for 3 weeks while on holiday from Australia so that we could meet up with our friends and family. Mark (the owner) was prompt and helpful with all of his communication and went out of his way to help us - he even bought a new travel cot for our baby to sleep in while we were there.

The flat is exactly as described, it is spacious and well-equipped and it is well looked after by the owner. For those travelling with a baby it is great - there is a new travel cot and a high chair. There is also plenty of space to keep a buggy in the hall of the flat - though, as clearly stated in the advert, there are three flights of stairs that the buggy will need to be carried up to get to the flat. We knew that this would be the case and it was fine as we have a light buggy.

We stayed in the flat in January and the flat was plenty warm enough with the central heating, there is also the option of using the open fire. The only (slight) downside is that the fireplace is large and creates a large through draught in the living room - we ended up using cushions along the bottom of the living room door to stop this happening.

The flat is in an excellent location, very central and within walking distance of the city centre. It is also less than 5 mins walk to the major bus routes and a taxi rank. The flat is on a fairly quiet road and the bedrooms are not at the from to the flat so there is no traffic noise at all when sleeping.

Overall, a brilliant flat and I would recommend it to friends, indeed, we shall stay there again when we next visit.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2016
Hi Hannah
Thanks for leaving such a lovely and well informed review, you have been great guests and we would love to have you stay again the next time you are in Edinburgh

Best wishes
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was our second stay at this lovely apartment, having spent a few days there over the summer. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to come for Christmas as our daughter who lives and works in Edinburgh could not get time off to come home. With our other daughter joining us from Portsmouth, this was rather first time ever that we had spent Christmas away from home.

I can only say, that this apartment was a real "home from home" and we spent a lovely Christmas in front of the log fire. The place is spotless, and Mark had the apartment well decorated for Christmas to make us feel very much at home.

With stunning views of Calton Hill, there are several great pubs / restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Can't recommend it highly enough for a location to explore the great City of Edinburgh. We will definitely be back.

Paul & Tricia Alexander

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully appointed / Central location
Liked least: 3 flights of stairs (but good exercise)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Hi Paul and Tricia, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kindly worded review on our page. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay over Christmas and you are welcome here anytime you are back visiting Edinburgh. All the best, Mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilyvict...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another fantastic stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is the second time we have stayed in the apartment. The owner was very helpful on arrival. The apartment is spacious, beautifully decorated and very clean. The location is perfect. Our six year old found it easy to walk to all the city centre locations. The free parking at the weekend was another bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Really great to welcome you and your family back again. Thanks again for being great guests and haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
“Like staying at a friend's flat”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My young adult children and I stayed in this flat in Edinburgh for three nights, and felt like we were borrowing a friend's house. It's a warm, homey place, very clean and comfortable. Mark and his dad, Martin, leave the flat stocked with everything you might need to settle in right away -- milk, bread and a nice welcome basket of local treats, movies and games. The flat is nicely furnished and decorated - just as pictured in the photos - and has a lovely functional fireplace and a beautiful view of Calton Hill. It also had solid Wi-Fi and a dishwasher and laundry. We were any easy walk to a market, restaurants and City Center attractions. The only caveat: It is up three long flights of stairs, which was fine for us, but might not suit every potential guest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very homey!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Hi Liz
Thanks for leaving such a positive review and that you enjoyed the flat in particular and Edinburgh in general. You are most welcome back anytime

Regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marrissa...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely apartment in perfect spot”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed at Mark's apartment the weekend just gone with my brother and mum. We all loved the apartment and found it perfect for our long weekend stay! Cosy, clean and in a great location. The hosts were very helpful too! Great value for money! We'd definitely stay again and would recommend highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Hi Marrissa
Thanks for such a nice review, we are glad that you had such a lovely weekend and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Edinburgh

Regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing