We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jancogo
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - home from home”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were in Edinburgh to attend a wedding and stayed for three nights. The apartment was so much more than we expected because of all the additional items provided and the attention to detail. From sewing kits to DVD's and a bottle of wine. The apartment was exceptionally clean, quality furnishings and well decorated but also a place to relax. We would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit to this wonderful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, and for taking the time to write it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you made use of the facilities in the apartment. We hope that we will see you again - perhaps when there is another wedding to attend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfy, homely and brilliant apartment- super location!!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in this great apartment with our boys aged 9 and 13. Like other guests have mentioned, David and Margaret really go out of their way to make the flat very homely, clean and comfortable. The little extras such as milk in the fridge, coffee, tea, a bottle of wine and chocolates (the kids loved these!) were really welcome after a morning of traveling. Location-wise, the flat is perfect- we walked everywhere with our boys without the need to take a taxi or bus. Walking back through the lit-up streets of old town in the evening was special indeed! We slept very soundly all 3 nights on comfy beds and the apartment was surprisingly quiet. We all loved our first trip to Edinburgh and would certainly stay at Brown's Close again. As our 9 year old summed up when asked what his favorite bit of Edinburgh was (and I'm not joking....) ' THE APARTMENT!'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, clean, comfortable
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We were very glad to hear that the boys liked the apartment so much (and hope they enjoyed the books and games!) and that you found the location so convenient - and, of course, that you enjoyed your first visit to Edinburgh. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Querubin8...
colombia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderfull time”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spend nearly three months in this precious flat, everything was perfect, David and Margaret are very kind and made our stay very confortable, they were always ready to help us and to give advise and usefull information of Edinburgh.

The Apartment is in the Royal Mile, very central, near to all relevant historic places, very convenient to walk to any points of the city, also if there are one or two buses that conects you to other atractions.

is easy to find a supermarket in the near,, good pubs and good restaurants.

We also loved the flat because is quiet and very cossy, you feel like in your own home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you found the apartment like home - we try so hard to make it a place we want to stay in ourselves!

We hope that you can come back to Edinburgh sometime and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi R
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had four nights of fabulousness in this wonderful apartment. Beautiful, clean, warm and homely. We couldn't have asked for more. Tea, coffee and all the essentials were waiting for us along with a bottle of champagne (we were on honeymoon from Devon) Everything is beautifully decorated and well thought out.
Getting around to all the attractions was so easy, a bus stop on the road opposite with the taxi rank 1 minute away (very friendly and chatty drivers)
We had 3 full days of sightseeing and visiting all that Edinburgh has to offer and enjoyed every moment of it. The one thing that really impressed us was the friendliness of everyone we met and spoke to, the lady's in the tea room next door to the shop assistants and all in between. All in all a fabulous apartment, fabulous city with fabulous people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every single thing!!!
Liked least: Leaving to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the apartment so convenient! We hope to see you again in your next visit to Edinburgh!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecronk0...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“You couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

If you are looking for a short break, you really couldn't ask for more.
The apartment is immaculately clean, spacious, modern, warm and homely
It's in an amazing location, the perfect spot to explore all of Edinburgh and situated next the beautiful scenery of Arthurs seat and the Crags.
Despite its central location its still really quite.
Good amenities - including good internet connection.
There were some really lovely touches, such as lovely bottle of red wine, chocolates, coffee, tea and even a carton of milk in the fridge!
Two minutes from the train station (by car), ten minutes walking (the airport bus goes to the train station)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing bed
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing