We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh eating/walking tour - great guide”
Review of Eat Walk Edinburgh

Eat Walk Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77,34*
and up
Canongate Brunch tour (Lower half of the Royal...
Ranked #9 of 45 Food & Drink in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eat walk Edinburgh offer two Food walking tours. One explores Edinburgh's Old & New towns and the other the lower half of the Royal Mile called the Canongate. On each of these tours you will visit unusual/hidden restaurants, bars and shops. There will be five food tastings and three drink tastings on the tour. The guide will talk about the history of the area as you walk between venues. The Old & new Town tour (1pm-4.30pm) which has five food stops with a Edinburgh Raspberry Gin, Scottish beer and a single cask malt whisky tasting ensuring you will not need to worry about dinner in the evening. The Canongate tour (10am-1pm) enjoys six stops including a Bloody Mary cocktail and breakfast canapes to get the tour off and running. By the end there will be no need for lunch. The Old & New town tour was recommended in BBC Good Food Magazine as a "Don't miss" thing to do in Edinburgh. Delicious magazine also has it down as a must do.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Richard was our tour guide for the food tour and he was so much fun! We just felt bad because we were eating in front of him and we wanted him to join us. There were six of us, young adults and us old folks (60's) and everyone enjoyed the tour. Loved the headsets so we could hear every word while on our walking portions of the tour.

1  Thank SJH411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the tme to write a review it is greatly appreciated I am glad you enjoyed the tour with Richard.

The headset are a good addition to the tour allowing you to listen to the guide's stories as you walk at your own pace between venues or wander off to take photos.

The guides don't eat on the tours as they have to talk about the food and drink served at each stop plus we are doing these tours every day sometimes more than once a day so couldn't possible eat and drink all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 49 reviews
"haggis"
in 147 reviews
"town tour"
in 26 reviews
"whiskey society"
in 24 reviews
"the hotel du vin"
in 17 reviews
"food stops"
in 14 reviews
"ear pieces"
in 11 reviews
"ghillie dhu"
in 11 reviews
"scottish food"
in 21 reviews
"black pudding"
in 11 reviews
"guide alan"
in 13 reviews
"great tour"
in 62 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 29 reviews
"cranachan"
in 15 reviews
"great introduction"
in 18 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"enjoyable afternoon"
in 10 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our group of 5 was scheduled to tour with Eat Walk Edinburgh on the day our cruise ship visited Edinburgh, but high winds caused the captain to turn around and leave port without stopping - gut wrenching disappointment for us.

Eat Walk Edinburgh was very sympathetic and worked with me to arrive at a mutually agreeable resolution.

I will definitely book with Eat Walk Edinburgh on a (hopefully) future visit to Edinburgh, and I salute the ethical behavior of this company. Thank you!

Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review even though you didn't make the tour.

We do try and work with people that miss the tour for reasons outwith their contol, but often we are at the mercy of the venues we visit and if we cancel without any charge so on this occassion it all worked out well.

Remember to contact me when back in Edinburgh so I can offer you a discounted rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The city is beautiful; the guide was incredibly knowledgeable about both food and history; the food was amazing; and the Scotch Whiskey was smooth. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to get to know Edinburgh better.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank RobMGillhamRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for this lovley review I ma glad you enjoyed the tour.

The Scottish whisky you tried is single cask unfiltered so still had oils and esthers in it which makes it slightly smoother than some other whiskies you may have tried..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The information was great and our tour guide was wonderful! We had a great experience! The only thing that would have been better is if we didn't have to wait so long for our food at a couple of restaurants. I'd give this experience a 4.5 :)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jenvz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I glad to hear on the whole you did enjoy the tour.

We are at the mercy of the venues, we try to select good venues to try the food and they are the ones that are busy. But we do phone ahead to let them know we are on our way to speed up the service, but sounds like that this did not work on this occassion, sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The tour lasted almost four hours and was great fun. We had food in 5 different venues and drinks in 3 of them all while being educated on Edinburgh and it’s history. We got to see lots of Edinburgh that we would otherwise have missed. A fabulous way to get an introduction to a city.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lynnwylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATChalmers, Owner at Eat Walk Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking time to write a review I am glad you enjoyed the tour.

The tour normally last around 3.5 hours but I do say if people are really enjoying themselves it can sometimes over run.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eat Walk Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Eat Walk Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing