We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Candlemaker Flat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candlemaker Row

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
sitting room
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
Candlemaker Row and Edinburgh Castle
Bedroom
Greyfriars kirkyard
Living Room
Greyfriars Kirkyard
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Stairs
Stairs
Entrance
The Building
Street
The Building
The Building
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
James T
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Candlemaker Flat”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The flat was located in the middle of Old Town, very close to Greyfriar Bobbys, Grass market and the Royal Mile. The flat felt like home the moment we walked in. The kitchen had all the necessities, the bedroom mattress was very comfortable and we can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Edinburgh! Richard and Julie were marvelous hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linafrica...
south Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is delightful & has everything that anyone could want. It was so charming & homely that we could have moved in permanently. The location is very central with easy walking to many of the Edinburgh sights. There are many lovely pubs & restaurants in the vacinity as well as great shops. Highly recommended. We hope to return next year. Thank you to Julie & Richard.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mugelndn
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best rental flat at the best location”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The flat has a very good size for two people. It provides everything (really everything), you need for your stay. You can stay at this flat for one year without having a need. The bed was the most comfortable one I slept on.
The location is unbeatable. 1 minute to the Grassmarket, 4-5 minutes to the castle and royal mile and 10 minutes to the Princess Street by walking. Stay there if you can. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and amenities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy G
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well-situated and outfitted, comfortable self-catering "base of operations" in Old Town Edinburgh”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As this was our first base of operations when coming to Edinburgh, I appreciated the good coordination and advance information. Julie Watt sent us correspondence that included a map and clear arrival directions. I recommend that others look at the owner's site at edinburghselfcatering (.biz) for informative descriptions of neighborhood attractions and resources. She found that booking system the easiest to use when I needed to change my travel dates!

The flat had the features I was seeking, such as few stairs, a bath, wi/fi, a comfortably walkable immediate area, and a washer/dryer. Julie welcomed us with a tray of cookies and cups for making tea or coffee. She had placed bouquets of garden flowers around the flat. The kitchen window-box added to the charm with cheerful red geraniums.

For further orienting visitors, guests leave their comments about restaurants or other discoveries in a book that later visitors can read. The owners provide information booklets as well, and a bookcase containing books about the area, plus novels by Scottish writers.
In the area, we enjoyed Greyfriar's Kirkyard behind the flat, the National Museum across the street, the exhibit at the National Library down the road, and St. Giles Cathedral up the road. I also visited an artisan knitwear shop next door. There are many eateries nearby.

In addition to facilitating our arrival, Julie very kindly an extra set of sheets right away when she learned my daughter and I would each sleep in a separate room.

The flat overlooks the one-way street, which does not have traffic noise, and the bedroom windows are double-glazed.

In special touches, we appreciated Julie's attention to detail, and interests in operating in an environmentally friendly fashion, such as providing for recycling in the kitchen, which was well-equipped with cooking utensils. It was also quite helpful that the flat has a phone with pre-programmed numbers for the owners and the taxi.

Overall, I felt the flat was a well-outfitted and pleasant home away from home at the center of many attractions, where we enjoyed the option of making our own meals in the morning and evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Both the accommodation and interfacing with the proprietor, who provided feedback forms for checkout asking if there was anything we might have liked that was not provided
Liked least: It would have been nice if a small end table or bench doubled as a suitcase stand
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is an absolute gem. Ideally located to explore the city on foot or via the city's tour buses. A stone's throw from the Castle and with easy access to local shops and eateries. The considerate owners have thought of everything from kitchen equipment and utensils, local information, books, games and DVDs. The apartment is charmingly and comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. There were even fresh, garden flowers in each room. Edinburgh is a beautiful city and our visit was made even more special by our choice of accommodation. We hope to return to Edinburgh and to Candlemaker Row. Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing not to like.
Liked least: Couldn't fault it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing