We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Looking down Royal Mile towards the apartment Well equiped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Looking down Royal Mile towards the apartment
Well equiped kitchen
Warm stylish modern bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Bright South Facing Living Room
Make yourself an espresso...
...settle back and relax
Quiet bedroom overlooking gardens
Minutes walk from the large Holyrood Park
Entrance to Dunbar's Close Gardens
Inside Dunbar's Close gardens
view of the apartment from the gardens
The front of the apartments on the Royal Mile
the Queen's palace at Holyrood, just down the road
View from the apartment window
View of Arthurs Seat taken from the rear of the apartment
Looking down on Holyrood from Arthurs Seat
View from the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tef66
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great ”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We were met by Sandra and David upon arrival and they explained a few things and recommendations for our stay in Edinburgh which was greatly appreciated.The booking process beforehand was so easy and they are easily contactable if you have any queries before you arrive.

The apartment is cosy, the bathroom is modern,the bedroom is comfortable and the kitchen/ lounge area spacious stocked with all that you might require for your stay.The apartment is warm and airy and easy to control the heating when needed for a quick boost .A nice gesture of a bottle of Prosecco awaiting in the fridge was an added bonus.

The location is great and close enough to walk to all the attractions and amenities and with being on The Royal Mile it can generate a bit of noise which you can hear which is due to the age of the building but you do expect that in the location you are in.
Be aware the apartment is on the third floor with stairs the only access.

Overall a great place to stay and to explore from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review the flat - we really appreciate it - and for your kind comments. Yes - there are a lot os stairs but the up side to that is that it tends to be a lot lighter and brighter than other flats on the narrow Royal Mile. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayRe...
redacr
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short visit”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Really comfortable and well equipped apartment in really good location. Everything was well handled and would recommend this rental,without hesitation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thanks very much for your review and kind words. Just glad that you had such a good time - in spite of the rather appalling weather! Hope to see you back some time. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
499felici...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect Apartment”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was absolutely perfect. The location was excellent as it was in walking to all the important sights. We also enjoyed being in the historic area of Edinburgh. The apartment was so comfortable and well set up. Loved the open plan and the well equipped kitchen. The lounge and bed were very comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate with floor heating. After a big day out sight seeing this was a lovely place to come back to and relax.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartmrnt and for saying such nice things! So glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sojournin...
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Flat, Perfect Location, Warm Hosts”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about my perfect stay at The Secret Garden. Hosts Sandra and David went out of their way to make it a perfect stay, beginning with a personal welcome and an enhanced welcome basket, through thoughtfully-stocked kitchen and bathroom supplies. A guest could easily bake and cook from scratch in this flat's kitchen.

The flat is euro-small, yet complete. The hosts thoughtfully provide a universal electric plug converter, as well as a hair dryer. They supply lots of books, maps, DVDs, and CDs, as well as the means to enjoy all of them, should you wish, as well as cable TV. The bed, an essential item, is very comfortable. The bathroom, with its heated towel rack and floor, is both functional and beautiful.

Besides being a very-comfortable base and retreat, The Secret Garden is well-located at the foot of the Royal Mile. Sandra will introduce you to a small Tesco grocery store, one street down through a wynd, that will provide all your food needs. Everywhere that you walk from The Secret Garden is just a short distance uphill. That means that your journey back to the flat is always downhill. Everything not within walking distance for you is a short Black Taxi or Uber ride away.

There is a bus stop directly across the street that will take you into the heart of Old Edinburgh every twenty or thirty minutes. I'd suggest buying a weeklong Lothian bus Ridacard on the way in. The Tollbooth Tavern, steps away on the other side of Canongate Kirk, has wonderful food and grog; the Warlock Pie is heavenly. Across the street, the wonderful ownersThe Wyrd Shop have everything that a curious person could get curious about.

Yeah. The Secret Garden is the place. Just do it. I did on intuition, even before I found my price for an airline ticket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the facilites, and the warm touches added by the owners.
Liked least: Wi-Fi access could use an upgrade. My PC had to sit on top of the router to gain a signal. My iPhone did fine everywhere inside the flat.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Hello Kurt,

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write a review of the apartment - and for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your explorations of the Old Town. Hope to welcome you back some day........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieM2...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Very Cute and Comfortable Apartment”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our time staying in the Secret Garden Apt. The location was wonderful, easy access to everything and the apt had everything you would need - kitchen was well stocked, and the furniture including the bed were very comfortable.
Sandra and David were fantastic hosts. We met them when we got there and they ran through everything with us. They were very generous with their time. We would highly recommend this apt!

Melanie and Jim Schafer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Dear Melanie and Jim,
Thank you for your kind words which we really appreciate. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you also enjoyed your other Scottish adventures. You are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing