We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 19:15
Save
Review Highlights
Pleasant surroundings good food and service.

Good food and nice venue. Christmas menu is £16.95 for 2 courses. Food very good but quite pricey... read more

Reviewed today
kareensmith
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Bistro

My husband and I decided to have a very French brunch this morning (since I’m French and live in... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2018
Stephane J
via mobile
Read all 13 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Edinburgh
from US$181,50
More Info
from US$51,10
More Info
from US$16,20
More Info
from US$37,10
More Info
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
5
3
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
3
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Had a voucher for a sharing platter and a bottle of wine. Both were excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Too bad it is only open during the Edinburgh Fringe. Hope it is open again next year as I would like to return and try some of the cakes.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Maggie572005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Bonjour! We've moved and are now at the top of the Royal Mile (West Parliament Square). And we've got a bistrot open all year round now. Please visit for a glass of wine and stay for one of our Fringe shows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I went to the Institut to see a performance of Ma Biche et Mon Lapin in the basement as part of the Fringe and discovered Le Bistrot where I had lunch. As I was previously unaware of the existence of the Institut, let alone its authentic French cafe, this was a very pleasant surprise. At £13.95 for entree + plat (in my case an excellent salade parisienne and a slightly overcooked beouf bourguignon) this was very good value. Wine at £4.90 for a small (125ml) glass compared with about £14 for a full bottle does not encourage abstinence! Service was friendly and efficient.

The only downside is that the bistro only takes cash, no cards.

As for the academic or cultural work of the Institut I have no knowledge and cannot comment.

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank Bonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Bonetti, If you're still in Edinburgh, please pay the Institut a visit and check out the new bistrot, which is now open all year long. Admittedly, it still only takes cash, but they should have their card payment system operational soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Unwelcoming staff, shabby building, spelling mistakes everywhere to be seen (IN FRENCH... and English). Altogether an unpleasant experience, do not bother !

Date of experience: April 2012
2  Thank gudrungoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Gudrungoth, I'm sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at the Institut's bistrot a few years ago. We've changed premises (now at the top of the Royal Mile) and updated the bistrot with a new look, management, and staff. I even believe their spelling has improved!

If you're still in Edinburgh, we'd love for you to give the Institut a second chance. Merci !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

cafes okay when open rooms are care worn to sat the least

Date of experience: November 2011
2  Thank ScotLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Scotladd, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the Institut's look and reception back in the 2012. We've recently moved to a beautiful location at the top of the Royal Mile, with updated classrooms, performance spaces, a library, an art gallery/project space, and a bistrot that recently opened.

We'd be happy if you were to give us a second chance and this time we'll make sure the accueil est beaucoup plus chaleureux.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

With the new cultural revolution taking effect as programmes become more visible it is worth noting that Scotland's oldest friend has had a change of director recently ,what a difference he is making. His latest success is this weekends food festival which has the country's newspapers fair birlin in their revues. . An outstanding success .What happened ?
unheard of things really. "top city restaurant taken over by Student Chefs"
"pay what you think it's worth" , " attend a demonstration from the students about what they learned about Scottish food,sample Breton dishes for free " learn how to cook like a Breton" and this new food festival hailed as a triumphant festival has been so successful it could become a regular event. More power to the new french director and his plans & this was only one of dozens in this quarters programme. It started with s free cheese and wine at lepicerie french deli and moved on to l'escargot Bleu restaurant who organised the students week along with the scottish farms,food producers and fishing ports who supply this restaurant with locally sourced food

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank sebasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Bonjour Sebasis, thank you for this wonderful review back in 2011. As you may know, we've recently moved to the heart of Edinburgh (West Parliament Square). We have a very vibrant cultural programme for this month of Festivals and we'd be happy for you to see what we've been up to.

A bientôt peut-être !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews