We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Bistro”

Institut francais d'Ecosse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1946, the Institut français d’Ecosse is the Scottish outpost of the French Embassy in the United Kingdom. Within its Edinburgh base, it combines: - A cultural venue with a 55-seat theatre for shows, music, theatre, talks, cinema screenings, and an art gallery; - A French language centre with about 1,500 students per year, more than 150 classes and 15 teachers; - An on-site and digital resource centre in the forms of our médiathèque and the online Culturethèque; - A network of correspondents coordinating its membership throughout Scotland.
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I went to the Institut to see a performance of Ma Biche et Mon Lapin in the basement as part of the Fringe and discovered Le Bistrot where I had lunch. As I was previously unaware of the existence of the Institut, let alone its authentic French cafe, this was a very pleasant surprise. At £13.95 for entree + plat (in my case an excellent salade parisienne and a slightly overcooked beouf bourguignon) this was very good value. Wine at £4.90 for a small (125ml) glass compared with about £14 for a full bottle does not encourage abstinence! Service was friendly and efficient.

The only downside is that the bistro only takes cash, no cards.

As for the academic or cultural work of the Institut I have no knowledge and cannot comment.

Thank Bonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Bonetti, If you're still in Edinburgh, please pay the Institut a visit and check out the new bistrot, which is now open all year long. Admittedly, it still only takes cash, but they should have their card payment system operational soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Unwelcoming staff, shabby building, spelling mistakes everywhere to be seen (IN FRENCH... and English). Altogether an unpleasant experience, do not bother !

2  Thank gudrungoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Gudrungoth, I'm sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at the Institut's bistrot a few years ago. We've changed premises (now at the top of the Royal Mile) and updated the bistrot with a new look, management, and staff. I even believe their spelling has improved!

If you're still in Edinburgh, we'd love for you to give the Institut a second chance. Merci !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

cafes okay when open rooms are care worn to sat the least

2  Thank ScotLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Scotladd, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the Institut's look and reception back in the 2012. We've recently moved to a beautiful location at the top of the Royal Mile, with updated classrooms, performance spaces, a library, an art gallery/project space, and a bistrot that recently opened.

We'd be happy if you were to give us a second chance and this time we'll make sure the accueil est beaucoup plus chaleureux.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

With the new cultural revolution taking effect as programmes become more visible it is worth noting that Scotland's oldest friend has had a change of director recently ,what a difference he is making. His latest success is this weekends food festival which has the country's newspapers fair birlin in their revues. . An outstanding success .What happened ?
unheard of things really. "top city restaurant taken over by Student Chefs"
"pay what you think it's worth" , " attend a demonstration from the students about what they learned about Scottish food,sample Breton dishes for free " learn how to cook like a Breton" and this new food festival hailed as a triumphant festival has been so successful it could become a regular event. More power to the new french director and his plans & this was only one of dozens in this quarters programme. It started with s free cheese and wine at lepicerie french deli and moved on to l'escargot Bleu restaurant who organised the students week along with the scottish farms,food producers and fishing ports who supply this restaurant with locally sourced food

1  Thank sebasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Bonjour Sebasis, thank you for this wonderful review back in 2011. As you may know, we've recently moved to the heart of Edinburgh (West Parliament Square). We have a very vibrant cultural programme for this month of Festivals and we'd be happy for you to see what we've been up to.

A bientôt peut-être !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF E, Public Relations Manager at Institut francais d'Ecosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Institut francais d'Ecosse also viewed

 

Been to Institut francais d'Ecosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing