We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 345)
Filter reviews
1 345 results
Traveller rating
789
395
112
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
395
112
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews georgian suite mini suite double shower four poster bed top floor boutique hotel cranachan underfloor heating quiet street free standing bath playhouse theatre roll top bath no lift small hotel basement room lovely hotel bottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1 345 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fed up of same old boring hotel chains?
Then try somewhere like No.11. Great boutique hotel. Very friendly welcome. Great room with huge very comfortable bed. Great breakfast.
And good value.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, No11 Team at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear David.
Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. No.11

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is a beautiful Georgian House in a quiet area, just 10-15 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley station - ideal for accessing the sites around Edinburgh. Staff were lovely and welcoming on arrival and gave us a full tour of the hotel and showed up to our room.

We chose a (Small) Double Room, Room 4, so I find it unjust to mark the hotel down for the compact nature of the room. I’d suggest before booking a room at No11, to thoroughly weigh up the options as Room 4 is probably better suited for a solo traveller and there are other, much more spacious alternatives within the hotel.

The room was light and bright though, as it featured a large sash window overlooking the terraced housing opposite. The room had all facilities we required, a desk, chair, mirror, clothing rail, Freeview TV, iron and board, hairdryer, fan, kettle and a tray of tea/coffee/biscuits. Our first impression of the room was that it was modern in decor, but certain aspects required touching up as they were looking tired - such as the windows (which I believe are protected and cannot be replaced), the shower doors not closing completely and a couple of marks on the carpet. We also had an issue with some water leaking through the ceiling above the door on the second morning of our stay. The double bed was very comfortable and provided a lovely nights sleep.

An unusual feature of Room 4 (I am unsure if this is common in all of the rooms in the hotel) was that the en-suite is made from two partition walls, and had no ceiling. If I’d have been more observant with the photos of the room, and known that this was the case, I’d have probably spent slightly more and selected a larger room. The bathroom within the room, although compact, had heated flooring and a heated towel rail, and two showers (an overhead shower and ‘normal’ shower.

Although we didn’t eat dinner in the restaurant, the full-sottish breakfast that was provided had a lot of options to chose from on its menu. We had paid for this in advance through booking.com so had the option of continental/ full Scottish or both. This is ordered from a menu and served to your table. The breakfast was delicious and gave us the chance to taste haggis and have eggs cooked to our preference.

All in all a wonderful stay at No. 11. I would definitely consider staying here again if I was back in Edinburgh, though would be selective in which room I would choose to stay.

Room tip: Room 4 is very compact and better suited for a solo traveller. Bathroom has no ceiling.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, No11 Team at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments.
We hope to welcoming you again soon in our hotel and also in our Brasserie!!
We strive to make sure our guests are aware of the size of the room before booking, through descriptions and pictures on our website and partner sites. We have a number of more spacious rooms available for guests who prefer a larger room at a higher cost. We hope to see you again in the future.No11 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this nice boutique hotel. We felt very welcome and would definitely book here again on our next visit.
The room had everything we needed, no noise from outside of the neighbors.
Breakfast was a well made, (veg) Scottish breakfast (or continental if you prefer).
Location is good, about 7min walk from last tram stop (connection to the airport).
We definitely recommend you to stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, No11 Team at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, Janika! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that we might see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

We booked the 4 poster bed suite for 4 nights and did not expect the room to be so big and beautiful.
The room features a bathtub large enough to fit two people and the shower (double) is huge and luxurious.
The only downside is that the mattress is really not firm enough and88 the toilets are really tiny, otherwise it is the best value for money hotel I have ever seen (especially if you book in advance)
The staff is lovely and very helpful and all the while respects your privacy.
Breakfast is cheap and generous.
All together we spent an incredible weekend in Edinburgh and would like to thank the hotel and the staff for their amability and professionalism.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank luciel199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, Receptionist at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your time at No.11
Big thank you for your kind words and excellent rating.
Looking forward to having you here again
No.11

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely overnight stay at this small hotel. Staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful. Rooms were large, very clean and comfortable. One of the group is gluten intolerant. This was absolutely no problem, which I'm advised is not always the case for her when ordering food!! She was also delighted to be able to have gluten free toast at breakfast. Much appreciated. Thanks Susan, Hamish and team for a lovely stay. Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Flyer19919660039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No11HotelBrasserie, No11 Team at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

We are thrilled to read you fully enjoyed your stay at No.11. We hope to welcoming you again soon in our hotel and also in our Brasserie!! Thank you No.11

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews