We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Lounge
Lounge Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
View from Lounge
Lounge
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Dining Area
Kitchen
Communal Gardens
View of Castle from Botanic Gardens
Holyrood Palace Gardens
Holyrood Palace Grounds
Botanic Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Martin M
Isle of Harris, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were delighted to discover this wonderful apartment. It's in an unbelievably quiet spot, yet within an easy walk of all Edinburgh's city centre amenities. The flat looks out on to well kept gardens at the rear of the property, which makes for a relaxing setting. The flat is spacious and really nicely furnished with comfy sofas and everything you could possibly need. It's a pleasure to be welcomed with fresh fruit and flowers in addition to the complimentary refreshments, biscuits and milk. The heating was excellent, the appliances all very good, TV and all the rest you might want. I could quite happily live there!

The apartment is priced very competitively in comparison to local hotels, and means I can breakfast when I like and enjoy all the facilities all day. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Really appreciate your review and taking the time to do it. It means a lot to us when we know our guests have had such a good time staying at our apartment. We like coming back to the peace and quiet so know what you mean! Look forward to you coming back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mags9876
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We Stayed here for a short break in february, on arrival was pleasantly surprised fresh flowers fruit , tea coffee and fresh milk, its the little Little touches that make the differenceThe apartment was spotlessly clean,and larger than it looks in the photos.Its a short walk to princess street and the railway station no more than 10 minutes,and there are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.We only stayed a couple of nights but it is fully equipped with everything you need for longer stays If we go to edinburgh again would not hesitate to book here , will not bother with hotels, This place a winner for us,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean modern look
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our apartment. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything so close including the station so close. Please come back and see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobPiper
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent apartment. Excellent location. Great weekend.”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our second stay at McDonald Road. Spacious apartment. Loads of room for 2 adults & 2 kids. Equipped with everything we needed for a long weekend. Secure parking is helpful. Ditched the car for the weekend. Location is great for access to Edinburgh attractions. Hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location very close to city centre and attractions
Liked least: no negatives
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Really appreciate your review and coming back to the apartment again. As you say its best to 'ditch the car' as Edinburgh so easy to get around without it! Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry J
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“We recommend Edinburgh City Centre Apartment”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

August 2015 was our third stay in the apartment. The owners have always been courteous and obliging. The apartment is pleasant, spacious and spotlessly clean with great facilities nearby. Just a short walk from Princess Street and the Old Town, Edinburgh. We have booked the apartment again for the 2016 Edinburgh Fringe. Highly Recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your kind words. Great you have come back for a third time and have booked again! As you say thanks to Michele the apartment is always spotless! Look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baritone2...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location and really comfortable flat”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My two teenage daughters and myself stayed here for a week in July and had a great time. The flat is very comfortable and well fitted out. Two bathrooms were a pleasure! We found it a 15 min walk to Princes Street. Twenty minutes to Holyrood Palace by foot and likewise the Botanic gardens. Despite being so near to the city centre the flat itself was extremely quiet. Had absolutely no problems parking and we did use the car once or twice. Will be back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Front door lock was a bit clunky to lock
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your nice review. As you say an easy walk to Holyrood Palace and of course you can also pop in to the Scottish Parliament - well worth it and free! So glad you also mentioned the Botanics - we go every visit! Come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$162
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing