We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, noisy building works.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pkmellowm...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, noisy building works.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Flat 7, 12 Simpson loan

First the flat, lovely, bright, clean, comfortable and warm. Plenty of cutlery, utensils, good oven and a truly refreshing shower - one of those that pours water from holes in the ceiling - very chic! Bed was comfy as was the flat in general.

Location - for access to the shopping centres, tourist sites, grass market and Cowgate, I'm not sure you could get better, literally only a 10 minute walk to the Royal mile, bang in the centre of tourist Edinburgh.

The management company provided good communication, key handover was very easy and easy parking nearby.


Now for the downside - the building works, oh the building works, the Quatermile has been having building works for some time and is not due to be finished, by the looks of things any time soon) - info came from my cousin an Edinbrough resident. They are building new buildings and renovating old, the work starts at 7am Monday to Saturday at least they were on the Saturday we were there, and finishes around 6pm. A lot quieter after that, only road noise and people walking and talking as they go by and, as you're on the first floor, if the window is open you can hear every word of what they are saying. Now as I say the apartment was warm, for me a touch too warm , so opened the bedroom window, unfortunately the window is just over the gate down to the meadows or the front/other end of the building, this gate slams, creaks, grinds and crunches as it opens and slams shut and appears to be well used at all times of the day and night. If the window is shut all was quiet.

Now I know the building works, passers by, pedestrians and cars etc are not the fault of this apartment owners, but the photos on booking.com and the descriptions say nothing about building works, which I feel is a little disingenuous. Building work was mentioned in an email, but only to say it shouldn't bother me and that it was 'ongoing', perhaps somewhat of a little understatement. Which is why I've knocked a star off, once the work is done or if you stay at the side facing the meadows, it would be much quieter - although less to look at!

the noise was a nuisance but copable with as long as windows shut during the day and early morning, Sunday was nice and quiet, but still some work going on. We weren't in the flat much during the day, so really the only problem was first thing, but again if you are an early riser or want to squeeze the most out of your stay in Edinburgh, it probably wouldn't be too much of an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location near to everthing
Liked least: The building works in front of the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappySumm...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect mini break”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Spent 3 days in Edinburgh celebrating a very special birthday and wow... this apartment was the icing on the cake. The apartment is of a high standard, very modern but very comfortable, we could not have asked for more. There was even some basic cupboard staples which is a lovely finishing touch. The apartment is in a fantastic location, about a 10 minute walk to all the major tourist attractions. We will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MIWSA
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, well equipped, great location, helpful landlord, good value”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights here.

It was perfect for what we were wanting, and actually spent 2 nights 'in' cooking for ourselves!

The bed was very comfortable (although the bedroom is rather small!), the living and dining area perfect for 2, although a coffee table would be a nice addition, and the kitchen was very functional and well-appointed.

Great shower!

Everything worked well (including the washing machine and dryer!), and we had no problems.

The location was excellent, and we walked to all the sights, restaurants, etc. with ease.

Our only complaint would be that the very early-morning delveries to the Sainsbury's and Starbucks opposite the flat across the small courtyard are very noisy, and woke us up on 3 of the 4 mornings!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable, and great location.
Liked least: Early morning deliveries to the shops opposite across the small courtyard
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it was so clean and well equipped
Liked least: Liked it all
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing