We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$228
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$243
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$160
US$154
Apex Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$200
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)
US$128
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Safestay Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveller rating
305
369
182
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
369
182
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suitequeensferry roadretail parktwo double bedsupgraded to a suitefifth floorgood sizefree wifiminute bus ridebus servicean upgradereception stafftwo night stayhotel restaurantstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellentprinces street
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 922 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This Holiday Inn property on Queensferry Road is ideally located- good connectivity to city center/Royal Mile.
It has a large Sainsbury outlet at a stones throw away- bus stand across the road. It is a clean & tidy business hotel, but serves tourists equally well.
The coffee shop, though operates till 11 pm is good.

Room Tip: Try for rooms with nos 510,512 for better view of Edinburgh town
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aviroopgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear aviroopgupta

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your stay with us. It is great to hear that the location of the hotel and its nearby amenities were fully enjoyed by yourself. I will personally pass on your comments about the great service offered by our hotel staff, and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I had a great stay at holiday inn! The staff were lovely and the room was great! Was very spacious! The breakfast in the morning was lovely. I most certainly would not hesitate to stay again! The location was good too not too far from edinburgh airport and close to the city centre as well.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank AniJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to spend a couple of days in Edinburgh and The Kelpies. Nice clean spacious room, excellent food in the restaurant albeit a little slow service. Breakfast had a decent choice too. Would certainly go back and recommend.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Peterinverurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J, Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I have been staying here for the past nine days unfortunately I have to endure 1 more night reasons for my low opinion of the hotel are as follows. 1- Nine nights in a row the sheets haven't been changed. 2- I feel as I have been singled out as I have been told on three separate occasions in my stay here my breakfast IS NOT INCLUDED IN MY ROOM ALLOWANCE which the same staff have seen me have breakfast every morning but still need to ask me IN FRONT OF OTHER CUSTOMERS which is highly embarrassing and humiliating as I'm made out I'm trying to getaway without paying. My point is they can't be bothered to ask the reception staff if I have it on my record of booking which also I have.
I feel the LACK of training is to blame for this.

Very disappointing.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank MrAhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear MrAhole,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves in and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The hotel is a bit out of the way, resulting in very few restaurant alternatives within walking distance. Plenty of free parking, the check in was quick and friendly, The room was adequate, decent size, large flat screen TV, two double beds, generally well equipped if a little tired looking. Noticed some unsavoury staining on the bed runner. The shower was a mixer over the bath, and was woefully underpowered. The TV remote control wouldn't work on arrival, however this was rectified within minutes by the friendly staff. Had dinner in the restaurant due to the lack of local alternatives, I found the menu, & especially the drinks, to be expensive. Also beware, a 10% service charge is autiomatically added to the restaurant bill, a presumptuous practice whicjh I really dislike. The restaurant & bar areas are comfortable enough. Also took breakfast the next morning, this was quite good, the requested omelette was fine, but the baked beans were cold.
Would probably stay again if the price was right, but it wouldn't be a first choice, not least because of the lack of alternative local dining options.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allertonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear allertonlad,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I great appreciate your comments about our staff to be friendly and room to be on a decnt size. However, it is to our regret that the TV remote control, cleanliness of the bed runner and and rates at the bar and restaurant was below par. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. Please be assured that all the points you have raised are noted to ensure that similar instances will be prevented from occurring in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Dianne L.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews