We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 819)
Filter reviews
2 819 results
Traveller rating
1 404
728
375
179
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 404
728
375
179
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scotsman newspaper north bridge privacy hatch royal mile train station market street deluxe room beautiful hotel mini bar an upgrade beautiful room central location calton hill princess street edinburgh castle sportsman concierge
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 2 819 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We were staying at the adjacent Lord Lyons Chambers (separate review) and it seemed rude not to visit the hotel for breakfast as it was so close. The first thing that I would mention is that the staff here are wonderful. So friendly and welcoming and justly proud of the beautiful building. We were greeted by a smiling concierge who showed us down to the breakfast room where we enjoyed an extremely good buffet for a very reasonable £15. All good.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jmgLowFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear jmgLowFell,

Thank you for your review of the Scotsman hotel following your breakfast visit. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that we managed to give you a great breakfast to set you up for the day ahead. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again perhaps next time as our guests in one of our beautiful bedrooms.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Very enjoyable stay, ideal location. Only negative, not having a sign indicating that there is a lift from Market Street. We carried our bags up all the The Scotsman's Steps and only upon arrival at reception learned there was a lift. We were fortunate enough to be there for the opening of the new restaurant, The Cafe, and enjoyed a lovely meal.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewYorkDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear NewYorkDeer,

Thank you for your review of the Scotsman hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our new Grand Cafe offering. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again should you be returning to Edinburgh in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

it was excellent.enjoyed the hospitality will go back again and again Location was perfect close to all the shops thr royal mile shopping was pleasant
Mazagan Beach resort is a must. on the sea side staff was excellent the was excellent

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank 540marthiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear 540marthiec,

Thank you for your review of the Scotsman Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much and found our location to be so suited to your visit. I hope we will be able to welcome you back agian in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This is a big old hotel - a veritable maze with lift access to both the lower level Market Street and Waverly Station and the upper level Bridge Street and the Royal Mile. Rooms are a bit scruffy but big, clean and well appointed with fridge, robes, coffee service, etc. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you for your review of the Scotsman Hotel. I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our room stock to further enhance the offering here at the hotel. I very much hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay,

Warm wishes and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Excellent location in old town, making for very easy exploration of the Royal Mile, the Castle, the Palace, etc. We arrived around noon, and the staff was friendly and allowed us to leave our bags until our room would be ready at 2pm. We went off to eat and explore, and upon our return they had already moved our bags into our room. Our room had a sitting area on one floor and then the bad and bath were upstairs. Nice furlongs, comfortable bed. The only downside was the breakfast, which we found to be average.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank teresave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear teresave,

Thank you for your review of the Scotsman Hotel. I am very please to see that you have enjoyed your stay so much. i am sorry that our breakfast fell short of your expectations, this is an area we normally excel in and i will feed back to the team to make sure we do not lose focus in this service area. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future for another enjoyable stay.

Warm wishes and kind regards,

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews