We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 606)
Filter reviews
1 607 results
Traveller rating
560
762
232
44
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
560
762
232
44
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean terminal the royal yacht britannia hi express bus stop right outside the hotel bus service free wifi day ticket the sofa bed frequent buses budget hotel number bus breakfast was included minute bus ride clean hotel yogurt short stay tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1 607 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

The room, typical of HI Express Hotels, was comfortable but compact and ideal for short stays, but for longer stays you would need more wardrobe and drawer space for clothes etc and a safe to store valuables. The included breakfast was pretty good with a choice of hot or cold buffet items, and the location was excellent being within easy walking distance of the Ocean Terminal and Royal Yacht Britannia. Frequent buses to Edinburgh Town Centre stopped just outside the front entrance as did the 'Majestic Hop-on-hop-off bus tour. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Proper restaurants, as opposed to fast food outlets in the Ocean terminal, were about a 20 minutes walk away along Commercial street at Victoria Quay, or 5 minutes on the frequent No 22 bus, but be aware, though, buses can only take the correct fare in cash - they are not able to give change - It cost £1.70 for the single to Victoria Quay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you found our team to be friendly and helpful and that you liked our convenient location with all of the great transport connections to the city centre, We would love to welcome you back again and if you need any change for the bus please let us know and we can help.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

stay in family rooms 2 double beds very comfortable for sleep 4 person sparkling clean rooms are big and clean beds are comfortable.great full spread breakfast.i have problem light in my room they consider 50 % discount and replace me room in the morning with request.front desk staff is very attentive.car parking is free for customers.as a ihg gold member comlimentry drinks.over all great.little far from city attractions.

Room Tip: family room on ground floor easy access to restaurent or anything
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 356vijayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear 356vijayn,

Thank you for this fantastic review of your stay.

It is fantastic to receive such great feedback from one of our loyal Gold Reward Club Members. Whilst I am sorry that you experienced a problem with the lighting in your room I am delighted that our team were able to resolve this to your satisfaction.

We would love to welcome you back if you are visiting our beautiful city again.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We spent 2 nights here for a visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia and Rosyth Dockyard. First night not too good as bed was very firm; ok for me but my wife had a metal hip and knee so there was no give at all for her. No mattress topper available, but we used another duvet and the second night was better than the first.
Breakfast on both days was very good.

Room Tip: We had a wheelchair accessible room so we were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Steve E,

Thank you for this 5 star review of your stay.

We replaced all of our mattresses and added luxurious toppers to our beds when we refurbished our guest rooms. The bed's are one of the most popular features of our new style rooms and I am sorry to hear that your wife found it too firm. I am pleased that we were able to help out with an extra duvet to help make the second night more comfortable. If you are booking to stay with us again please drop us an e-mail when you make the booking and we can arrange for this or a second topper in advance.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast on both mornings.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay soon.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

This hotel is no different than another other Holiday Inns. The staffs are friendly and offer great Scottish hospitality. It's a little away from the city center but the bus line is right outside the hotel. A daily ticket will take you almost anywhere in Edinburgh for a very affordable price. I think it's better then getting on a Hop-on Hop-Off bus.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joecW3220AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Joe C
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to see we delivered the Holiday Inn brand as you expected, with the added Scottish Hospitality from our team. I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Best regards
Douglas, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Use HIExpress a lot for work but this was a family break to see the Rolling Stones at Murrayfield. The usual excellent, friendly and engaging Holiday Inn Express staff at this Edinburgh Waterside/Leith location - nothing too much trouble and very helpful - a credit to the hotel. Room was very good and quiet (top floor) and hotel superbly located for direct buses for airport and city - the stop is right outside the hotel. The Royal Yacht Britannia is 5 minutes’ walk away and well worth a visit. Cafe Domenico is 10 minutes walk, where we enjoyed a very good Italian dinner. Will definitely use again for next Edinburgh visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank DDG-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear DDG-Manchester
I am delighted to note that the staff extended a warm welcome to you and your family on a particularly busy weekend and that you were able to explore the local vicinity and our wonderful city. I do hope you will have the opportunity to return to Edinburgh again soon.
Best regards
Douglas, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews