We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ”
Review of Dynamic Earth

Dynamic Earth
Book In Advance
More Info
US$572,78*
and up
Private Edinburgh City Tour in a Minibus
Ranked #62 of 449 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A visit to Dynamic Earth is like nothing else on Earth. It's a chance to experience the primeval forces of nature as they shaped our planet, to journey through space and time and even go on a 4DVENTURE around the world. You'll be embarking on the interactive adventure of a lifetime - the lifetime of our planet. As if this wasn't enough, Dynamic Earth is home to Scotland's only 360 degree full dome film theatre. We have a variety of films showing throughout the year.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We have a membership for here as I have a curious little 3 year old who has a keen interest in science - we love it! We often pop in on a Sunday after taking a trot around Arthur’s Seat and it’s fantastic as we watch the 360 cinema - only 30 minutes long and keeps both my 3 year old and my 8 month old mesmerised - and then we have a mooch about the place.

So much fascinating areas to learn, a reasonable cafe, brilliant soft play and gift shop which sells things you don’t need but really must buy... like dinosaur dungarees.....

All the staff are super helpful and friendly especially when heaving round a buggy with two children and when your son fire 789682 questions at them, they always keep smiling

1  Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh M, Manager at Dynamic Earth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

It's brilliant to hear you have enjoyed using your Annual Explorer Passes so much. We love the 360° ShowDome and are glad to hear your wee ones love it too! We will pass on your kind words to the whole team and hope to see you again soon for another family day out.
Best wishes,
Dynamic Earth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"big bang"
in 87 reviews
"ice age"
in 27 reviews
"all ages"
in 151 reviews
"soft play area"
in 22 reviews
"school groups"
in 21 reviews
"annual pass"
in 21 reviews
"older children"
in 23 reviews
"school trip"
in 22 reviews
"special effects"
in 27 reviews
"great for kids"
in 44 reviews
"interactive activities"
in 22 reviews
"year olds"
in 31 reviews
"gift shop"
in 69 reviews
"rainy day"
in 63 reviews
"dark side"
in 29 reviews
"whole family"
in 26 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 45 reviews
Filter

101 - 105 of 2 184 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Worth a visit, very interesting and the staff where very friendly. Good especially if you have kids, lots for them to do and play with.

Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh M, Manager at Dynamic Earth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, we're very happy to hear you had a good day with the kids and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Dynamic Earth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This highly educational place is a great day out for adults and children. It is enormously educational and it can take up to 2-3 hours to finish. Great shows and tours. Very educational and equally entertaining g for the kids from 5-16. Very interesting to adults as well. It is simply a great family out.
Tickets are reasonably priced, and they can take off 20% off your car park ticket.

2  Thank Haitham79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh M, Manager at Dynamic Earth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the great review, it's wonderful to hear you had such a good family day out at Dynamic Earth. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Dynamic Earth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

First, it's not that far from the centre.. 15 min walk from the station.
Second, it's a great interative museum, like a show about Earth. Last for 2 hours but you don't see the time going. Even my son of 10 years old enjoyed it. Definitly a place to go to discover the story of the Univers in a interesting manner. Staff is very nice, the place is well located. Worth the effort to go there..

Thank Emmanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh M, Manager at Dynamic Earth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the great review, it's great to hear you had a good time learning about Earth and the universe! We will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Dynamic Earth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Husband and I went into Dynamic Earth on a wet day,rather than face the queues and crowds at Holyrood Palace,and were so pleased we had done so-wondered why we hadn't done it before.Now I will recommend it for a visit as well as the other local visitor attractions.Friendly helpful staff,excellent displays and features.It was most informative,and fun as well,even for older folk,as well as interactive for younger visitors.
The film in the show dome was first class.It is worthwhile trying the audio commentary as it provides more information too.We appreciated the science content which was not
" dumbed down" and very thought provoking.The cafeteria has a good selection of hot dishes and sandwiches etc,with a section for children's lunch boxes,all at very reasonable prices.The shop had a great variety of toys,books etc again reasonably priced.Younger visitors will love the soft play too!Our visit was most enjoyable and informative,and I could recommend it to all ages.

Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh M, Manager at Dynamic Earth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

That's wonderful to hear you had such a great day out at Dynamic Earth. Thank you for the lovely review, we will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team. We're glad you enjoyed the 360 degree ShowDome. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Dynamic Earth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dynamic Earth also viewed

 

Been to Dynamic Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing