We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family day out ”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #4 of 395 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 12 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round .Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We visited the Royal Yacht Britannia as a family day out last week while on holiday. The actual yacht is worth a visit but unfortunately our car was deliberately terribly scratched while parked in the recommended car park in the Ocean terminal shopping centre which is the entry point to the royal yacht. We did contact the shopping centre as we noticed security cameras directed at our car and reported it to the police but haven’t heard back from both of them. We didn’t expect such a vandalism when visiting a royal sight and therefore this incident unfortunately ruined our nice day out and also clouded our holiday in Scotland.

Thank Birgit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Britannia. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your tour, and had such a good family day out aboard the Royal Yacht. We are sorry to learn of your experience in the free multi-storey car park at Ocean Terminal, and understand that this will have marred an otherwise lovely holiday to Scotland. We will pass on your comments to their management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19 556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tea room"
in 1 375 reviews
"engine room"
in 920 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 762 reviews
"own pace"
in 1 031 reviews
"ocean terminal"
in 779 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1 243 reviews
"beautiful ship"
in 199 reviews
"crew quarters"
in 177 reviews
"other half"
in 417 reviews
"scones"
in 736 reviews
"top deck"
in 255 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 246 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 385 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 254 reviews
"fudge"
in 347 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 279 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 418 reviews
Filter

1 726 - 1 730 of 19 556 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Really interesting visit.Great audio aid to explain each room.Allow at least 90 mins for trip.Only downside is that it is a bit of a procession snaking about the ship

Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

It is brilliant to learn that you had such an interesting visit to Britannia, and found our complimentary audio guide to be so useful. As you mention, we recommend taking at least two hours to complete the tour, however, as it is self-guided, you are free to explore Britannia at your own pace. Thank you for visiting, and for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We visited the yacht with our two teenage boys and they found some of it interesting and we found other bits interesting. It was an interesting hour or so, but not something I would return to.

Thank LeeA2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for visiting Britannia, and taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that the tour proved to be an interesting experience for all the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited here on the bus and we were not disappointed at all. What a beautiful vessel and it was really interesting to see how the Royals lived while on this yacht. A great tea room on board (a little expensive) however we had to give it a try and we enjoyed our tea and lemon cake. We were on here for a good two-three hours and the weather stayed good for us to walk all around the decks, etc. A bit blowy outside so be sure and bring a hat and scarf this time of year. Friendly staff and a great souvenir shop at the end of the trail.

Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

It sounds like you had a wonderful time touring Britannia. We are delighted to learn that your visit lived up to your expectations and that you found it to be so interesting. A visit to our Royal Deck Tea Room is a great way to complete your tour, and the homemade cakes are indeed lovely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our Royal Yacht Britannia visit was excellent and a highlight of our trip to Edinburgh. Morning tea in board was very special and it all felt like we were on the set of The Crown. It was a short taxi ride from our hotel in Stockbridge.

Thank JSmithAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are pleased to learn that your visit to The Royal Yacht Britannia was the “highlight” of your trip to Edinburgh. Indeed it is incredible to be able to tour Britannia, as you follow in the footsteps of Royalty. Many thanks for visiting, and for your five-star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing