We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best amuse bouche ever”
Review of Castle Terrace Restaurant - CLOSED

Castle Terrace Restaurant
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Castle Terrace Restaurant is all about representing the finest produce in Scotland. The award-winning restaurant, which was completely refurbished in the beginning of 2016, showcases Chef Patron Dominic Jack's many years of training in some of France's top kitchens. His skills, passion and attention to detail is truly reflected in his innovative and modern menu.
Reviewed 4 July 2020

I have visited Castle Terrace about once or twice a year, every year, since it opened.
The prices it charges mean this is definitely a”special occasion” place, however I have always felt it delivered on great food, if sometimes the waiting staff are a little formal and stand-off ish. (It’s sister restaurant Kitchins is much better on this score).
However, it’s amuse bouche of a Caesar salad in one bite is simply the best one bite I’ve ever had. All the tastes of an excellent Cesar salad caught and encapsulated in one liquid, gel enclosed mouthful. Yummy !

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank angiem895
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (2 612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 2 612 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2020

This has to be one of the best lunches (or indeed meals) I have had for some time. And just in time too before the Covid-19 lockdown. And we almost did not eat here, we were booked elsewhere but water damage to that venue meant we were offered lunch here instead. Perhaps we were doubly lucky!

Anyways, the food was amazing. I had Spelt starter (I could have left happy after eating that – one of the best dishes I have ever tasted), Venison two ways for main (really well made) and a 'Chocolate Eclair' for pudding (incredible detail, could have done with being twice the size, mainly because I am greedy). My girlfriend Scallop to start (she liked it but had to admit The Kitchin had it just beaten with its version), Sea Food Lasagne (quite a large portion, did not look anything that special but tasted divine) and Soufflé (nom).

I had a couple of glasses of paired wines from very knowledgable sommelier, plus dessert wine, so the bill was slightly eye watering...

...however the food was great and staff, well they are something else. What a great, welcoming bunch. They made the meal truly memorable. Recommended. After you have saved up!

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank swearingdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

This is a great place to visit if you like fine dining. Everything is perfectly presented and the waiting staff are very attentive. Great to see all local ingredients and even the cheese trolley had great local choices. Top wine list too! The fact that it was so busy in these uncertain times speaks volumes

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank shorty4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

Amazing experience from the moment we walked in - the food the service even the wallpaper is out of this world wonderful!

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank ktsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

We had a lovely meal for two today. Excellent Scottish/locally sourced food cooked superbly and in excellent service that was always friendly too.

We had been due to go to Copenhagen but had to cancel the night before due to Covid-19. As the trip was a present we decided to go here to ease the blow, booking only about 13 hours in advance.

The food was great and service excellent. One of us had the lunch menu with accompanying wines. The other (driver) had an a three course la Carte lunch with non-alcoholic cocktail and non-alcoholic wine (a first and good!). There was also a surprise taster menu - but we thought this might be a bit too much food.

We had three course each. There were also complimentary pre-starters, amuse bouches and petit fours.

The food was all beautifully cooked and presented with great combinations of flavours. A few photos attached.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank AleksJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Castle Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.