We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Location, location, location! Castle View Apartment Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
143 reviews
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Location, location, location!
Castle View Apartment Living Room
A good dram of single malt awaits our guests: Slanj!
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Kitchen
Castle View Apartment Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 2
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 2
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Edinburgh Castle from the living room window
Castle View Apartment: New Year Fireworks Over Edinburgh Castle (photograph taken from living room window)
The Grassmarket
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 143 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Cosmopoli...
1 review
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We traveled to Edinburgh in order to visit our daughter who is studying at the University for a semester. Only 15 minute walk to her flat. We traveled with our 23 yr.old son, who stayed with us.
Peter was very easy to deal with. He met us right on time and spent enough time to explain all the amenities and local spots. The apartment had everything needed for our weeks visit. It was nice that he provided tea, coffee and pastries for the morning. The view of the castle, right outside the window was a bonus.
Very close to everything. We could walk to Old Town, New Town, Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, and Grassmarket area. The shops, restaurants, coffee houses and pubs were all right there. It was nice that he had suggestions on where to eat, drink, local services, and landmarks. And distances to each. Also a taxi service contact if needed. We also enjoyed his complimentary scotch whiskey after a long day.(Bonus!!!)
Thank you very much, we enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19Damian7...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

An excellent location, a cosy and clean apartment, a brilliant view of the castle, a warm welcome from Peter warmed further by the whisky and porridge ( not mixed together!); overall a wonderful stay! We have zero complaints, 10/10 praise and cannot wait to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ideal location, spotless property, fast wifi
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer32...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Large 2 bedroom apartment with well equipped kitchen.”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great location with view of the castle. Contacted Peter and was met at the apartment when we arrived by cab from the airport. He spent time with us talking about the apartment and giving us tips about the area. We ate our meals in the apartment using the close-by store for our supplies. Comfortable and loved having a bath tub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: We brought too much luggage and the climb was a little much. Our fault to bring too much.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandJbusy...
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Phenomenal location, apartment and owner!”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Peter, the owner, is the friendliest host. He met us when we arrived and spent over an hour acclimating us to the apartment and surrounding area, answering our questions, providing recommendations. The apartment has everything you could need - to include soap for the bath, clothes and dishwasher. Very nice fit and finish to the apartment. Towels, sheets, etc. were very nice. All pictures are accurate to the apartment. This experience is now the gold standard when reviewing vacation rentals! Peter had breakfast available for the 4 of us (our son and his fiance joined us) for the next morning along with scotch and snacks for the evening. Great location near Grassmarket in old town and the castle. A local Sainsburys is just 1/2 block up to pick up groceries. Could not have had a better experience - we would absolutely recommend and return in a minute! BTW - the historic building is a poke'stop as well. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great host eased the transition, apartment well fitted out, great location
Liked least: Only 1 bath for 4 adults
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler5...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A welcoming place for any traveller to Edinburgh with a lovely view of castle”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Peter was very welcoming and helpful upon arrival. He provided a tour of the apartment making sure everything met our needs. He even had some basic provisions for the first breakfast, which was great as we had arrived quite late. There is also a local Sainsburys a few minutes walk from the apartment too. The apartment is quite central to Old Town and very easy to get to. The apartment was like home from home after a full day of visiting the local sights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing