We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switch to Manual”

Edinburgh Photography Workshop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A friendly and welcoming approach to teaching photography with clients from absolute beginners through to seasoned photographers. Each of the workshops are designed in such a way that the fundamentals are explained in simple language and then placed into context through practical application. Workshops conclude with a review of images taken to ensure that all the principles have been understood.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Highly recommend this workshop to anybody who wants to learn how to use their camera and how to take better photographs. Richard was very knowledgable, teaching not only how to make the most of your camera but the composition and final editing using Lightroom.

Thank maisieblunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich_Dyson, Owner at Edinburgh Photography Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for the lovely review Maisie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"night photography"
in 5 reviews
"manual settings"
in 5 reviews
"learn how"
in 5 reviews
"shutter speed"
in 4 reviews
"dslr camera"
in 3 reviews
"learning how"
in 3 reviews
"great instructor"
in 2 reviews
"taking pictures"
in 3 reviews
"four hours"
in 3 reviews
"old town"
in 6 reviews
"manual mode"
in 2 reviews
"ask questions"
in 2 reviews
"royal mile"
in 4 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"editing"
in 6 reviews
"session"
in 7 reviews
"aperture"
in 4 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I thouroughly enjoyed learning how to use my camera and switching to manual. Rich is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about photography. He was patient and encouraging which was great for an absolute beginner like I me.

Thank lauradent84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich_Dyson, Owner at Edinburgh Photography Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for the review Laura. I hope to see you on another workshop in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I went along to the course very apprehensive as I knew nothing about cameras apart from the Auto button. By the time I had left I was taking photographs with the Manual settings and had a much better understanding about Apertures, Shutter Speed, Composition of photographs and other various bits and bobs. The instructor Rich was very easy to get along with and set me at ease right from the start. The day was helped by glorious weather making the walk along the chosen route very pleasant. I also learned various interesting historical notes about Edinburgh and its past citizens that I didn't know before. Also Rich's use of his model, Charles, was novel. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed the course which lasted for just over four hours. Good valu for money

Thank norrieanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich_Dyson, Owner at Edinburgh Photography Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for your lovely review Norrie. I look forward to seeing you on another workshop in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the workshop. Although I knew the theory (aperture, shutter speed and ISO) I did not have the confidence to Switch to Manual. Nor did I understand the light meter or histograms. Overall I leaned allot and am now enjoying the M setting.

Seeing the photo software in action was a bonus too.

So much to learn and take in, my head was buzzing.

Whilst I can get the exposure 'numbers' correct, I still have allot to learn about composition. Meanwhile I'll keep practicing.

Thank GolfDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich_Dyson, Owner at Edinburgh Photography Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again on another workshop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Rich is a fantastic teacher and we were able to learn about the basics to help us start using our camera to its potential. We had a great day and the follow up from Rich with learning tips has been much appreciated. We highly recommend this workshop for anyone looking to take their photography to the next level.

1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich_Dyson, Owner at Edinburgh Photography Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for the great review Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Photography Workshop also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Photography Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing