We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
305
71
24
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
305
71
24
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glen isla lodge house glen esk driving range self catering lovely meal living area fantastic weekend long weekend main building bar and restaurant boathouse wedding bards accommodation balconies decking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

We visited Forbes of Kingennie to play golf. The course was in fabulous condition and we thoroughly enjoyed our game. We stayed for some “light bites” and the waitress (didn’t catch her name) and duty manager (Jacob) ate assets to their team and made our visit all the more enjoyable. I will definitely recommend the golf course and restaurant to my friends. Date visited 13/7/21

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Thank you for the 5blob review David M

We are so happy that you loved the golf course and enjoyed your meal!

Its great to hear such lovely feedback about the staff here at the resort and we will pass on the compliments to the team.

Kind Regards
The Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2021

We stayed for 3 nights in the lodge closest to the venue, Glen Prosen, as part of a party celebrating a wedding being held at the venue. Overall, the food was good and the accommodation was good but the big let down was that some of the bar staff had no idea what products they had on and made many mistakes delivering our drinks orders. We felt that more attention to training is needed here. The app the resort encourages you to use is pretty bad too, I was able to order successfully once from it but anything after that was not possible, it refused to take my order. Also, in the app, you may order any manner of gins but you cannot specify what sort of mixer - the option is just "Schweppes mixer" so, if you want slimline tonic or any other mixer, you have to order from one of the staff (with all the confusion that that exercise entails).
The lodge itself was comfortable and clean, well equipped for our stay. The only niggles were that our lodge had no hooks on doors to hang your towel whilst in the shower or anywhere else to hang other clothing. In a similar fashion, the bathrooms could have done with a couple of grab handles strategically positioned for the older or infirm guests. The bath in the main bathroom was exceptionally deep and the aged grandmother of the bride could not use it - there was no way she could get out of it without grab handles. There was a lack of a full length mirror anywhere in the lodge, frustrating for some attendees at the wedding wanting to check their outfits before the off.
The wedding ceremony and reception afterwards was very good the food on offer (pre-selected) was very good. Sadly some of the waiting staff taking drinks orders were lacking in knowledge of what was available leaving me to make my own way to the main bar so that I could order what I wanted and knew was available. Apart from that the rest of the day went well, probably because Bruce the manager was in constant attendance.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bigbadjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Hi bigbadjoe,

Thankyou for your review, i am glad you enjoyed both the food and your 3 night stay in our lodges. We are sorry to hear you have had a disappointing experience in regards to our new App aswell as the service. As the pandemic hit and with the re-opening of our business we had to employ staff to keep up with the demand and staff are both new or settling back down after what has been a tough year. We ask our guests to be patient during this time as staff are trying to get back on their feet with the huge amount of changes that have happened during this unprecedented time. All issues reported were passed onto the relevant departments in order for us to solve these issues. In regards to the bathroom all of our lodges are standard and we do have an accessible lodge that caters for both the elderly and those who may struggle with bath's etc and have the walk-in shower and lowers sinks etc for this reason.

We appreciate all of your feedback and will take all of your comments on board.

Kind Regards,

The Kingennie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We were staying in Glen Clova lodge, we had the most peaceful stay and our dog was made so welcome.
The staff were lovely, so helpful and friendly.
This was our second stay at Kingennie and definitely won’t be our last.
Book you won’t regret it.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel1aud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Hi Jan1960

Thank you for your lovely review,
Its great to hear you had a fantastic stay and your furry friend was made so welcome!
I will pass your compliments on to our team.
We look forward to your return,

Kind regards
The Kingennie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2021

We just had another six night stay on this beautiful resort and we are looking forward to another trip this August. However there were a few areas that concerned us this trip, firstly although the lodge was brilliant it was only let down by the very poor tv signal resulting in loss of picture on numerous occasions ( not good during euros and royal ascot). Another concern was prices, my brother in law and myself played golf twice and fished on three occasions (on the same lake) and we paid different rates every time which became very confusing. We soon realised that unless we constantly mentioned the fact we were staying on the resort the guest discount wasn't applied which made us feel uneasy like begging for our entitlement surely it is up to the staff to enquire before submitting the bill. This brings me to the final concern the lack of flexibility when fishing. On previous trips we were able to purchase a day ticket and fish various times through the day after all we are on holiday with other family members and it would be unfair not to do the tourist attractions. On purchasing a ticket this trip the start time was noted and the clock started ticking, wether 4,6 or 8 hours it had to be used en bloc resulting in us feeling obliged to purchase only a 4 hour ticket as to do other family activities. I personally feel some form of weekly ticket (as like the golf) with some flexibility built in for lodge guests could alleviate this problem and make our stay more enjoyable.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Broomhill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Hi Broomhill10,

Thank you for your lovely review,
It's great to hear you had a fantastic stay and we look forward to welcoming you in August.
Due to the weather over the course of the year our tree's have grown quite a considerable size and we have now had these cut back to ensure the signal of TV is at the highest standard with being in the countryside, we hope when you return this issue will be resolved. I have taken your comments on board in regards to the sports pricing and when checking in please let the team know when you are checking in and we will create a fishing permit for your time during your stay to make it easier for the members of your party.

We look forward to your return,

Kind regards
The Kingennie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

Fantastic location with amazing views! Stayed in a waterside lodge that was well equipped everything you would possibly need.
Had a meal in the restaurant as it was a special occasion the food was very good.
The only thing that let the lodge down was there were a few maintenance issues that could be easily checked while the lodge is being serviced. There was no mat in the en-suite bath so having a shower was a bit slippy.
The balcony had a lot of cobwebs and the tables were quite dirty but this again is down to housekeeping and how the lodge is checked there was no lock on any of the bathroom doors we had to devise a way to let someone know that the bathroom was in use.
Saying all that I did not feel the need to report any of this I am only mentioning it in my review so the resort can maybe look in to giving the lodges a bit of TLC .
We all enjoyed our stay and will return in the future .

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank X5092HUwendyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Hi X5092HUwendyg,

Thank you for your lovely review,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our lodges and was equipped with everything you needed.
I have passed your feedback onto the relevant departments and please be rest assured these issues have been reported and rectified.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return

Kind regards
The Kingennie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews