We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$336
View deal
PricelineUS$336
eDreamsUS$336
TripadvisorUS$336
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
300
69
26
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
300
69
26
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glen isla lodge house glen esk driving range self catering lovely meal living area fantastic weekend long weekend main building bar and restaurant boathouse wedding bards accommodation balconies decking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2021

The place is great, the views are amazing and the lodges are very nice and clean. We really enjoyed our time.
Definitely worth a trip out there.
Highly recommended ❤️
The staff were very helpful and friendly

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lidiasN6665BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Thank you for the 5blob review lidiasN6665BW

We are so happy that you loved the lodge and enjoyed the fantastic views.

Its great to hear such lovely feedback about the staff here at the resort and we will pass on the compliments to the team.

Kind Regards
The Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021

this was the second time me and wife have stayed here,first in the boathouse and now in bards lodge,we love it staying in the resort,so quite,and peaceful,the food is excellent,the high tea we had was the best weve had,the staff are all great,the bards lodge was really good we had a great time there,couple of pointers,when you have a log burner,there should have been enogh wood for your stay,sadly there was none left,we had to keep asking for it,and we had buy our own to keep as going,could be a wee bit cleaner in some bits, on the balcony there is only 3 chairs one was broken if you stayed whith 6 people,not enogh,apart from that we will back to stay there again

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank harper223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Hi Harper223

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We are so happy that you loved the lodge and enjoyed your meal in the restaurant.
I have passed your feedback onto the relevant department and this has now been rectified.
We look forward to see you again in the future

Kind regards
The Kingennie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

ed in the Coorie Doon and the lodge was very clean and well presented. The enclosed private area was also very well set out, hot tub, fire pit and seating area.

On the down side the hot tub didn’t have an overhead cover to let you enjoy it when wet outside and the lodge was not very warm, underfloor heating only. Anyone that feels the cold may not be warm enough.

As above though the lodge was very well presented and spotless.

Food in restaurant was very good, nice space and friendly staff.

One major annoyance was that we didn’t check out till 1000 and an employee from the resort came into our private area at 0925 and started cleaning the hot tub. The space wasn’t large and there are no external blinds on the lodge doors, he / we were therefore in full view of each other and in close proximity which was quite uncomfortable and we felt was wrong. The guy was pleasant enough but shouldn’t have been in the area until after we had left.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kevinyvonnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Hi Kevinyvonnes

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review of your visit.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant.
Thank you for making us aware of the concerns you had with the lodge. Please be rest assured these issues were passed onto the relevant department and have now been rectified.

Kind Regards
The Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

I sat and was fishhing here all day around 11 til tea time. I myself did not catch a fish and neither did anyone else in the big pond apparently. I bet a fiver they don’t even stock the ponds. absolutely ridiculus

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AndrewOMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Hello Andrew,

I am really sorry to hear that you didn't catch any fish when you were out on Saturday. Our ponds are stocked very regularly, they were all stocked last Thursday and we have another big fish delivery for Bankside this Thursday. If you email our team at libby@forbesofkingennie.com we would love to invite you back to give fishing here another try.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

Food is always good here. Had the Christmas menu today - turkey and veggie parcel - very good. Waiting service was slow, took 20 minutes for our drink and food orders to be initially taken and a further 15 ish minutes for drinks to be served. Felt longer due to sitting facing the not so busy bar. No issues with wait for food and staff were friendly.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BethT1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbes of Kingennie , Owner at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2020

Hi BethT1808

Thank you for your review,
I am sorry to hear that you had a long wait on ordering and receiving your drinks.
I will have a look into this to see what happened and i will pass on your lovely compliments about the food and staff to the team.
Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review we really appreciate it.

Kind regards
The Kingennie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews